LAGQ (Los Angeles Guitar Quartet) – Spin (2006) {SACD ISO + FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz}

LAGQ (Los Angeles Guitar Quartet) – Spin (2006) [2.0 & 5.1]
PS3 Rip | ISO | SACD DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 64:09 minutes | Scans included | 3,92 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Scans included | 1,12 GB
Features 2.0 Stereo and 5.1 multichannel surround sound | Telarc # SACD-60647 | Genre: Jazz, Latin, Classical

The Los Angeles Guitar Quartet is a successful multi-guitar ensemble regularly performing, known for its variety of repertory. They are known for using nylon string guitars to imitate a variety of instruments and effects. They have played in many styles; Baroque, Bluegrass, Flamenco, Rock, and New Age are among their repertoire.

A quick check of the Los Angeles Guitar Quartet’s discography reveals its strong grounding in both classical and popular music, and makes clear that the virtuoso ensemble’s success is largely due to finding the right blend to please almost everyone. That’s one reason why Spin, the LAGQ’s 2006 release on Telarc, is a bit of a risky venture, since it features no classical arrangements and presents only pop-inflected pieces by group members William Kanengiser and Andrew York, as well as several similarly flavored selections by rising composers of light and tonal contemporary fare. This agreeable program is commercially viable, and since the music is pleasant and occasionally catchy, few casual listeners will be disappointed with it; but because this collection is extremely mild in its fusion of styles and quite mellow in its moods, adventurous listeners will find absolutely no challenges here. With guest percussionist Colin Currie joining the group on Joe Duddell’s Freaky Dancer and York’s Night Furniture, there are some changes of texture and color that provide relief; but arrangements for guitars dominate the disc, and their timbral blandness tends to pall, especially in music of such limited harmonic and melodic interest. So while this CD has some appealing qualities that LAGQ’s fans will appreciate, it is decidedly lightweight in substance and not required listening for the group’s classical audience.

01. Turn to the Sea
02. Hidden Realm of Light
03. Spin
04. Freaky Dancer
05. Quiccan
06. Pillow Pretending – Night Furniture
07. Chair with Hands for Feet – Night Furniture
08. Shadowed Credenza – Night Furniture
09. Catwalk
10. Did You See the Moon Last Night?
11. Stairs
12. Solstice Poem Theme
13. Variation 1 – Solstice Poem
14. Variation 2 – Solstice Poem
15. Variation 3 – Solstice Poem
16. Epilogue – Solstice Poem
17. Stirfry
18. Turn to the Sea (composer’s cut)

– John Dearman
– William Kanengiser
– Scott Tennant
– Andrew York
with Colin Currie: percussion



FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz


We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?