Le Poeme Harmonique, Les Cris de Paris & Vincent Dumestre – Son of England (2017) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Le Poème Harmonique, Les Cris de Paris & Vincent Dumestre – Son of England (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 55:45 minutes | 984 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Booklet, Front Cover | © Alpha

Henry Purcell died on 21 November 1695 at the age of thirty- six. The music he had written for the funeral of Queen Mary only eight months earlier was performed again for his burial service. Soon afterwards, several composers paid tribute to Purcell by writing odes in his memory. Jeremiah Clarke’s homage to ‘Orpheus Britannicus’ in his Ode on the Death of Henry Purcell is a deeply moving token of the younger composer’s admiration. Alas, Clarke too was destined to die in his prime, and we can only imagine what the destiny of British music might have been if their lives had been prolonged. After an acclaimed production of Dido and Aeneas, Vincent Dumestre and Le Poème Harmonique continue their exploration of the world of Purcell and seventeenth-century English music. Constantly keeping an ear out for multiple musical ramifications, from Dowland to Lully by way of the Elizabethan masques, this new programme spotlights the genius of Jeremiah Clarke, whose sadly premature death makes us regret all the marvels he might have produced. Here is a collection of masterpieces coupling two of Purcell’s most popular works with an exceptional discovery. (c) Alpha Classics


Jeremiah Clarke (1674-1707)
Ode on the Death of Henry Purcell
1 I. Overture 03:31
2 II. Come, Come Along for a Dance and a Song 02:30
3 III. Mr. Clarke’s Cebell 01:33
4 IV. Hold, Shepherds, Hold! 03:48
5 V. No More This Ling’ring Blow 02:03
6 VI. Oh, Dismal Day! 05:58
7 VII. And See, Apollo Has Unstrung His Lyre 01:42
8 VIII. Mr. Purcell’s Farewell 01:26
9 IX. All’s Untuned, but Yond Diviner Sphere 02:53

Henry Purcell (1659-1695)
Funeral Sentences for the Death of Queen Mary II
10 I. The Queen’s Funeral March Sounded Before Her Chariot 02:45
11 II. Man That Is Born of a Woman 02:27
12 III. In the Midst of Life 01:31
13 IV. Yet, O Lord, Most Mighty 02:46
14 V. Canzona 02:10
15 VI. Thou Knowest, Lord 02:30
Welcome to All the Pleasures, Z. 339
16 I. Symphony 02:00
17 II. Welcome to All the Pleasures 01:59
18 III. Here the Deities Approve 04:45
19 IV. While Joys Celestial 03:13
20 V. Beauty, Thou Scene of Love 03:08
21 VI. In a Consort of Voices 01:07

Katherine Watson, soprano
Nicholas Tamagna, alto
Jeffrey Thompson, tenor
Geoffroy Buffière, bass
Le Poème Harmonique
Les Cris de Paris & Geoffroy Jourdain
Vincent Dumestre, conductor



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?