Luke Haines, Peter Buck – All The Kids Are Super Bummed Out (2022) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Luke Haines, Peter Buck - All The Kids Are Super Bummed Out (2022) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz] Download

Luke Haines, Peter Buck – All The Kids Are Super Bummed Out (2022)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 01:07:39 minutes | 774 MB | Genre: Alternative Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Cherry Red Records

Second album / collaboration between Luke Haines (Auteurs / Baader/Meinhof / Black Box Recorder) and Peter Buck (R.E.M.). Peter Buck plays guitar and feeds LSD to a broken Moog synthesiser. Luke Haines sings songs about God, provides an occasional strum on his guitar and blows Pan’s flute. Scott McCaughey plays the bass and mellotron and Linda Pitmon bangs the ritual drum. Lenny Kaye drops in and has a nightmare in the key of doo-wop.

During the last two years, over lockdowns, Luke Haines and Peter Buck retreated to a cold war bunker and recorded this double album / manifesto, monster-piece and masterpiece, in answer to the question: Why are all the Kids super bummed out?Absurdly prolific and never at a loss for something to sing about, Luke Haines could probably write an opera in the time most of us put into making a grocery list. The former leader of the Auteurs and Black Box Recorder, Haines has pursued a solo career that finds him putting his wordiness front and center, and with the help of his friend Peter Buck, he’s given us yet another set of surreal broadsides on 2022’s All the Kids Are Super Bummed Out. Haines invariably seems more interested in mood and tricky wordplay than in a clean narrative line, but on this set of songs (17 tracks in 68 minutes), he’s obsessed with the collision between the politics of armed confrontation and the druggy excesses of a previous generation’s youth culture. “The Commies Are Coming,” “The British Army on LSD,” and “45 Revolutions” all deliver an entertaining level of poetic paranoia wrapped up in equal parts surreal wit and a cynic’s razor-sharp focus. With this latest set of salvos clocking in at double-album length, it’s a good thing Haines has Peter Buck on board to help write and produce the music. As on Haines and Buck’s previous collaboration, 2020’s Beat Poetry for Survivalists, the former R.E.M. guitarist has set aside his trademark jangle in favor of a moodier tone that better suits the enthusiastic fatalism of Haines’ delivery; his melodies and arrangements are an excellent match for the lyrics, and his creative use of an out-of-date Moog synthesizer is a superb match for the reverse nostalgia of the songs. (As is his habit, Buck has also brought some talented friends on board to help him with these sessions, including the Minus 5’s Scott McCaughey, the Baseball Project’s Linda Pitmon, and longtime Patti Smith Group guitarist Lenny Kaye.) All The Kids Are Super Bummed Out makes the mistake of front-loading the most exciting numbers in the first half of the album, making the last act tougher sledding than it needs to be as Haines’ verbal anxieties start to outweigh his wit. But no one who is a fan of Haines’ previous work is likely to be disappointed with All the Kids Are Super Bummed Out, and he’s fortunate to have found a collaborator in Peter Buck, who makes music as strong, idiosyncratic, and witty as the lyrics they support. – Mark Deming


1-01. Luke Haines – The British Army On LSD (04:10)
1-02. Luke Haines – The Skies Are Full Of Insane Machines (03:30)
1-03. Luke Haines – Sunstroke (04:09)
1-04. Luke Haines – 45 Revolutions (05:06)
1-05. Luke Haines – Won’t Even Get Out Of Bed (03:46)
1-06. Luke Haines – Psychedelic Sitar Casual (04:10)
1-07. Luke Haines – Subterranean Earth Stomp (03:10)
1-08. Luke Haines – The Commies Are Coming (03:15)
1-09. Luke Haines – When I Met God (04:53)
2-01. Luke Haines – Minimalist House Burns Down (05:12)
2-02. Luke Haines – Exit Space (All The Kids Are Super Bummed Out) (07:17)
2-03. Luke Haines – Iranian Embassy Siege (03:14)
2-04. Luke Haines – You’re My Kind Of Guru (03:25)
2-05. Luke Haines – Flying People (02:33)
2-06. Luke Haines – Diary Of A Crap Artist (03:23)
2-07. Luke Haines – And We Will (02:33)
2-08. Luke Haines – Waiting For The UFOs (03:53)



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?