Melt Yourself Down – Pray For Me I Don’t Fit In (2022) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Melt Yourself Down - Pray For Me I Don’t Fit In (2022) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz] Download

Melt Yourself Down – Pray For Me I Don’t Fit In (2022)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 41:40 minutes | 957 MB | Genre: Art Rock, Dance Rock, Post-Punk, Fusion, Jazz Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Decca (UMO)

Lauded London 6-piece Melt Yourself Down are back armed with a new approach for their fourth studio album Pray For Me I Don’t Fit In. Created for misfits, by misfits, Pray For Me I Don’t Fit In sees Melt Yourself Down embrace a celebratory punk agenda. Having realised they are never going to fit the mould, the group deliberately draw on their myriad influences, speaking all languages musically and lyrically. Led by the potent sounds of Sax pioneer Pete Wareham, the punchy sax hooks pay homage to the traditional horn sections of late 60’s early 70’s era of Jazz, Soul and Rock n Roll, while showcasing African pentatonic scales and dance-inducing rhythms with raw 70’s rock and punk. This album sees vocalist Kushal Gaya celebrate his diversity – tonally, texturally, and emotionally while embracing lyrical depth. Recorded and produced by band favourite Ben Hillier (Blur, Depeche Mode and Nadine Shah), delivering his distinct musical depth, resonance, and dark drive so essential to Melt Yourself Down’s sound. This album is the band’s most cohesive work to date.Though closely aligned with the British jazz scene, England’s Melt Yourself Down have carved out a singular jagged space in the uncharted stylistic terrain that exists between vanguard jazz, post-punk, Afrobeat, post-punk funk, and various African musics. Arguably, Pray for Me I Don’t Fit In best illustrates their place on that periphery. 2020’s 100% Yes deserved accolades for its jagged, abrupt take on musical eclecticism, zig-zagging across styles and genres from moment to moment. This set is more focused and holistic yet sounds simultaneously more unhinged.

Produced by Ben Hillier (Blur), the sextet all but forsake jazz here, as saxist/bandleader/arranger Pete Wareham delves deeply into skronky, hooky, formally constructed songs with half-sung/half-shouted English-language vocals by Mauritian frontman/guitarist Kushal Gaya. Everything here seems to be led by canny bassist Ruth Goller’s exceptionally solid, rhythmically unshakeable riffs. The band hone their propulsively anarchic rhythm core into a spicy aural gumbo of aggressive, knife-edged precision. They weave effects-heavy live drums and percussion via hyperkinetic electronic beats and industrial production.

In the opening title track, a filthy, rumbling bassline meets double-timed drums, Gaya’s chanted vocals, and Wareham’s sideways sax playing. Synths and loops frame an Afro-Latin carnival groove that roars, then circles back on itself. “Boots of Leather” emerges with a shambolic post-punk vamp, but when the singing stops, stabbing horns, crunchy bass, and hard-swinging drums and percussion careen into mutant Afrobeat. Both “For Real” and “Nightsiren” dig into grinding, industrial, punk-funk — more A Certain Ratio than Rick James — while weaving a rhythmic bond from dubwise North African rhythms. Wareham’s squalling horn underscores each of Gaya’s sung lines in the former before a post-punk breakdown in the bridge claims the fore. The latter’s appeal lies in its triple-timed collision of reverbed electro, Borbetomagus-esque sax skronk, and interlocking organic and synthetic drums. “Fun Fun Fun” roils out of the gate with a punchy, rubbery bassline, swinging Afrobeat horns, and fingerpopping loops above clattering drums. The band’s jazz roots pop out momentarily in the pointillistic horn-and-bass interplay on “Sunset Flip,” while Wareham delivers an atonal mini-solo that almost dislocates the core vamp on “Balance.” The intro to “Ghost on the Run” sounds like an outtake from Konono No. 1 until the horns borrow the sliver of Tower of Power funk template and these grooves become dangerous and sinister. The powerful brass overtone honks challenge Gaya for dominance. The band careens across sharpened Afrobeat, synthy industrial rock, and loopy post-punk exploding the tune into an orgy of rhythm, noise, and overtones. For all of its incendiary music, furious soundscapes, and rhythmic madness, Pray for Me is beautifully produced, mischievously strategized, and expertly performed.

– Thom Jurek


1-1. Melt Yourself Down – Pray For Me I Don’t Fit In (05:31)
1-2. Melt Yourself Down – Boots of Leather (03:14)
1-3. Melt Yourself Down – For Real (04:44)
1-4. Melt Yourself Down – Nightsiren (04:02)
1-5. Melt Yourself Down – All We Have (04:05)
1-6. Melt Yourself Down – Fun Fun Fun (03:55)
1-7. Melt Yourself Down – Balance (04:10)
1-8. Melt Yourself Down – Sunset Flip (03:37)
1-9. Melt Yourself Down – Ghosts On The Run (04:08)
1-10. Melt Yourself Down – I Got Time (04:10)

Download from FileJoker:

We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?