Menahem Pressler, Quatuor Ebene – A 90th Birthday Celebration (2014) [HighResAudio FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

Menahem Pressler, Quatuor Ebène – A 90th Birthday Celebration (2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz | Time – 01:15:54 minutes | 797 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HighResAudio| Front Cover | © Erato/Warner Classics

The Quatuor Ebène was invited by legendary pianist Menahem Pressler to join him in celebrating his 90th birthday at a concert at the Salle Pleyel in Paris in November 2013. Their programme included two of the most life-affirming works in the chamber repertoire, Dvořák’s Piano Quintet in A major and Schubert’s ‘Trout’ Quintet, which form the album version of this release.

90 years old, and still performing superbly as a soloist and chamber musician, pianist Menahem Pressler is a phenomenon – as the members of the Quatuor Ebène delightedly acknowledged at a celebratory concert at Paris’s Salle Pleyel on November 7th 2013. Recordings made at the concert, which also brought contributions from the double-bassist Benjamin Berlioz and the tenor Christoph Prégardien, have now been released on both HighResAudio.

“The Schubert Trout…radiates such communicative spirit and pure delight in making music together that one readily forgives the very occasional rough edge or slip of the finger. Above all, of course, this cherishable pairing is a celebration of how one remarkable survivor has immeasurably enriched the lives of so many.”  – Gramophone Magazine November 2014

“Flexible fingers, bright eyes, a cherubic smile, a prodigious virtuosity: the American-Israeli pianist Menahem Pressler…is a model of old age at its most munificent…This is the present for any chamber music lover – if you can bear to give it away.”  –  The Observer 14th December 2014

“the world’s greatest chamber musician celebrates his 90th birthday…with the Quatuor Ébène as delightful companions. Elegant, affectionate music-making, with Pressler still showing the silky keyboard skills that made his 53 years with the Beaux Arts Trio such a glorious epoch.”  – The Times 22nd November 2014


Antonín Dvorák: Piano Quintet No. 2 in A Major, Op. 81
01. I. Allegro, ma non tanto
02. II. Dumka: Andante con moto
03. III. Scherzo (Furiant): molto vivace
04. IV. Finale: Allegro

Franz Schubert: Piano Quintet in A Major, Op. 114, D. 667 ‘Die Forelle’
05. I. Allegro vivace
06. II. Andante
07. III. Scherzo: Presto
08. IV. Andantino – Allegretto
09. V. Allegro giusto



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?