Miriam Makeba – Miriam Makeba (1960/2016) [AcousticSounds FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Miriam Makeba – Miriam Makeba (1960/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 36:05 minutes | 823 MB | Genre: Folk
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: AcousticSounds | Front Cover | © Legacy

Zenzile Miriam Makeba, nicknamed Mama Africa, was a South African singer, actor, UN goodwill ambassador, and civil rights activist. This is her self-titled album – released in 1960 on the RCA Victor label.

Miriam Makeba had just made a splash in New York nightclubs and earned a fistful of press only a few months earlier when RCA Victor Records snapped her up and recorded her first album in May 1960. Clearly, the label was hoping to repeat the success of her mentor, Harry Belafonte, whose Belafonte Folk Singers accompanied her on some tracks and who wrote a blurb for the album’s back cover. Like Belafonte, she was a black singer with an exotic, folk-based repertoire who could translate her music into a sophisticated club act. In addition to the Belafonte troupe, which appeared on the calypso tune “The Naughty Little Flea,” a song that sounded like a Belafonte number, the Chad Mitchell Trio joined her on “Mbube,” aka the Weavers’ “Wimoweh,” and Charles Coleman was her duet partner on the comic Austrian tune “One More Dance.” She also turned in an early version of “House of the Rising Sun.” Such familiar material offset the songs sung in her native South African tongue of Xhosa. Makeba had an expressive voice and was extremely versatile, as the range of material indicates. But despite the critical raves, she may have been a bit too exotic to be commercial on her first album, which was not a big seller. RCA let her go to Kapp Records for her second album, but came calling again three years later.

01 – The Retreat Song (Jikele Maweni)
02 – Suliram
03 – The Click Song
04 – Umhome
05 – Olilili
06 – Lakutshn, Ilanga
07 – Mbube
08 – The Naughty Little Flea
09 – Where Does It Lead?
10 – Nomeva
11 – House Of The Rising Sun
12 – Saduva
13 – One More Dance
14 – Iya Guduza



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?