Mort Garson – Journey to the Moon and Beyond (2023) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Mort Garson - Journey to the Moon and Beyond (2023) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz] Download

Mort Garson – Journey to the Moon and Beyond (2023)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 33:57 minutes | 654 MB | Genre: Progressive Electronic
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Sacred Bones Records

When Sacred Bones first began their Mort Garson reissue project in 2019 with a proper reissue of Plantasia, the Garson-naissance began in earnest. Soon after, you could hear Mort Garson and his Moogs bubbling up on TV shows, documentaries, podcasts, hip-hop tracks, or anywhere else, the man a cultural phenomenon once more. Like a perennial that returns with each new spring, the Mort Garson archives have brought to bear yet another awe-inspiring bloom. Journey to the Moon and Beyond finds even more new facets to the man’s sound. There’s the soundtrack to the 1974 blaxploitation film Black Eye (starring Fred Williamson) alongside some newly unearthed music for advertising. Just as regal is “Zoos of the World,” where Garson soundtracks the wild, preening, slum- bering animals from a 1970 National Geographic special of the same name. The mind reels at just what project would have yielded a scintillating title like “Western Dragon,” but these three selections were found on tapes in the archive with no further information.The crown jewel of the set is no doubt Garson’s soundtrack to the live broadcast of the 1969 Apollo 11 moon landing, as first heard on CBS News. That’s one small step for man, one giant leap for Moogkind. But for decades, this audio was presumed lost, the only trace of it appearing to be from an old YouTube clip. Thankfully, diligent audio archivist Andy Zax came across a copy of the master tape while going through the massive Rod McKuen archive. So now we get to hear it in all its glory. Across six minutes, Garson conjures broad fantasias, whirring mooncraft sounds, zero-gravity squelches, and twinkling études. It showcases Mort’s many moods: sweet, exploratory, whimsical, a little bit corny, weaving it all together in a glorious whole.

Maybe at the time it scanned as crass and opportunistic for Garson to apply his keyboards to subjects like astrological signs, the occult, hippiedom, houseplants, or the moon landing. But more than most other electronic music pioneers of his ilk, Garson foresaw the integration of such electronics into our daily lives, how they would allow us to engage with the world.


01. Mort Garson – Zoos of the World (05:30)
02. Mort Garson – The Big Game Hunters See the Cheetah (02:12)
03. Mort Garson – Western Dragon (Pt 3) (00:52)
04. Mort Garson – Western Dragon (Pt 2) (01:23)
05. Mort Garson – Moon Journey (06:18)
06. Mort Garson – Music for Advertising #6 (00:39)
07. Mort Garson – Black Eye (Main Theme) (01:14)
08. Mort Garson – Western Dragon (Pt 1) (01:28)
09. Mort Garson – Music for Advertising #7 (01:21)
10. Mort Garson – Captain DJ Disco UFO (Pt II) (03:52)
11. Mort Garson – Three TV IDs (01:00)
12. Mort Garson – Music for Advertising #8 (01:06)
13. Mort Garson – Love is a Garden (02:07)
14. Mort Garson – The D-Bee’s Cat Boogie (02:31)
15. Mort Garson – Black Eye (End Credits) (02:17)

Download from FileJoker:

We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?