Nicolas Altstaedt – Shostakovich – Weinberg: Cello Concertos (2016) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Nicolas Altstaedt, Michal Nesterowicz – Shostakovich – Weinberg: Cello Concertos (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 01:11:46 minutes | 1,54 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Booklet, Front Cover | © Channel Classics Records

It is particularly fortunate to see Franco-German cellist Nicolas Altstaedt on a record label that will finally allow him to nurture his whimsical personality and insatiable curiosity on a long term basis, he who just a few years ago produced one of the most dazzling recordings of the Haydn Concertos for the Genuin label. For this first album on the Channel Classics label he takes us on a journey through the former Soviet bloc with three major figures of the twentieth century: Dmitri Shostakovich, Mieczyslaw Weinberg and Witold Lutoslawski. Do not expect an avalanche of virtuoso gimmicks from this team: it’s all about the lyrical and surprisingly playful section of Shostakovich’s Concerto No.1, as well as the infinitely secretive and mysterious Weinberg piece, as they were intended. An amazing album, and one which you should grab with both hands.

Though this is not visible on the cover, in addition to Shostakovich’s Cello Concerto No.1 and Mieczyslaw Weinberg’s piece, the album also features Witold Lutoslawski’sLittle Suite. The three pieces were written roughly at the same time: 1959 for Shostakovich, 1951 for Lutoslawski, 1948 for Weinberg – who had to wait for Stalin’s death to reveal his work, since both he and Shostakovitch were under the dictator’s surveillance and their works could have earned them a stay in Siberia, or maybe even a wooden coffin. The two Concertos share some similarities: Rostropovich arranged both, and the two composers’ mutual influences are clearly identifiable on many occasions – Weinberg saw Shostakovich as a mentor, but in fact they often influenced each other. This did not prevent the composers of writing immediately recognizable music! By way of a “breathing pause”, the LutosÅ‚awski’s Petite Suite consists of four delicious miniatures taken from popular tunes of the Rzeszów region in southern Poland. The work was initially considered “light music,” but when Lutoslawski appropriates the genre we are immediately seized by this masterpiece. Jean Françaix or Alexandre Tansman might have written something similar.


Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975)
01. Cello Concerto No. 1 in E-Flat Major, Op. 107: I. Allegretto
02. Cello Concerto No. 1 in E-Flat Major, Op. 107: II. Moderato
03. Cello Concerto No. 1 in E-Flat Major, Op. 107: III. Cadenza
04. Cello Concerto No. 1 in E-Flat Major, Op. 107: IV. Allegro con moto

Witold Lutoslawski (1913-1994)
05. Mala Suita (Little Suite): I. Fujarka (Piccolo)
06. Mala Suita (Little Suite): II. Hurra Polka
07. Mala Suita (Little Suite): III. Piosenka (Song)
08. Mala Suita (Little Suite): IV. Taniec (Dance)

Mieczyslaw Weinberg (1919-1996)
09. Concerto for Cello and Orchestra in C Minor, Op. 43: I. Adagio
10. Concerto for Cello and Orchestra in C Minor, Op. 43: II. Moderato – Lento
11. Concerto for Cello and Orchestra in C Minor, Op. 43: III. Allegro – Cadenza
12. Concerto for Cello and Orchestra in C Minor, Op. 43: IV. Allegro

Nicolas Altstaedt (cello)
Deutsches Symfonie-Orchester Berlin
Michal Nesterowicz (conductor)



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?