Orchestre Symphonique De La Monnaie & Patrick Davin – Philippe Boesmans: Pinocchio (2018) [FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

Orchestre Symphonique De La Monnaie & Patrick Davin – Philippe Boesmans: Pinocchio (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz  | Time – 02:03:28 minutes | 1,16 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Booklet, Front Cover | © Cypres

Nineteen musicians in the pit, three on stage; resolutely tonal music in a straight line of succession running from Stravinsky, Prokofiev, Martinů, Weill; French lyrics more declaimed than sung – by, happily, Francophone singer-actors led by Stéphane Degout, Vincent Le Texier, Yann Beuron and Chloé Briot: this is the framework that Philippe Boesmans chose for his latest opera Pinocchio, recorded live at La Monnaie in Brussels. The script is the work of Joël Pommerat, and it aims for an hour and fifteen of the quasi-melodrama based on the style which was in vogue in the 19th century in which to showcase the baffling musical richness of Collodi’s work: and with immense success, it must be said. Pommerat is not necessarily looking to write a purely lyricalPinocchio, but rather to develop an opera within an opera, using Brecht’s favoured method of defamiliarisation, a sort of play-within-a-play, where “real” events alternate with narrative description of what’s happening or about to happen. This is, without a shadow of a doubt, a major work for the contemporary scene, a worthy 21st-century successor to the Magic Flute and its fantasy world, immersive, and full of illusions, prisms and invitations to new readings: in short, a masterpiece. And it can hardly come as a surprise that the subject hasn’t drawn the attention of more composers since it first appeared in 1881, as only cinema and television have really taken it seriously (and Disneyesque animations, heaping on the sugar), with the exception of Jonathan Dove’s unique 2007 work, The Adventures of Pinocchio

Philippe Boesmans (b.1936)
01. Pinocchio: Ouverture
02. Pinocchio: Prologue
03. Pinocchio: Scène 1
04. Pinocchio: Scène 2
05. Pinocchio: Scène 3
06. Pinocchio: Scène 4
07. Pinocchio: Scène 5
08. Pinocchio: Scène 6
09. Pinocchio: Scène 7
10. Pinocchio: Scène 8
11. Pinocchio: Scène 9
12. Pinocchio: Scène 10
13. Pinocchio: Scène 11
14. Pinocchio: Scène 12
15. Pinocchio: Scène 13
16. Pinocchio: Scène 14
17. Pinocchio: Scène 15
18. Pinocchio: Scène 16
19. Pinocchio: Scène 17
20. Pinocchio: Scène 18
21. Pinocchio: Scène 19
22. Pinocchio: Scène 20
23. Pinocchio: Scène 21
24. Pinocchio: Scène 22
25. Pinocchio: Scène 23
26. Pinocchio: Épilogue

Orchestre Symphonique De La Monnaie
Patrick Davin (conductor)



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?