Oscar Peterson – Plays The George Gershwin Song Book (1959/2015) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Oscar Peterson – Plays The George Gershwin Song Book (1959/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 32:44 minutes | 1,45 GB | Genre: Jazz
Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | @ Verve Music

Canadian jazz pianist Oscar Peterson takes on songs by composer George Gershwin. Oscar Peterson Plays the George Gershwin Songbook features “Nice Work If You Can Get It”, “Our Love is Here to Stay” and more!

Oscar Peterson made two trips through the Gershwin repertoire, one in 1952 and another in 1959 after the advent of stereo. As with Oscar Peterson Plays the Duke Ellington Songbook, this disc compiles both sessions, the earlier one with a trio of guitarist Barney Kessel and bassist Ray Brown, the later one with Brown and drummer Ed Thigpen. The later session is programmed first. The earlier group drew its conception from the Nat ‘King’ Cole trio, a lightly swinging blend that benefits from a third highly adept soloist in Kessel. The later group is more conventional, but it sometimes draws meatier, more forceful playing from an older Peterson. The contrast is apparent in the two versions of ‘It Ain’t Necessarily So.’ On both sessions, the emphasis is on the tunes, and Peterson sparkles on uptempos and ballads alike.“

In what was a giant undertaking (even for producer Norman Granz), pianist Oscar Peterson recorded ten Songbook albums during 1952-1954 and when his trio changed, nine more in 1959. Both of his George Gershwin projects (one from 1952 and the other from 1959) have been reissued in full on this single CD. The earlier date matches the brilliant Peterson with guitarist Barney Kessel and bassist Ray Brown, while the 1959 session has Brown and drummer Ed Thigpen. The Songbook series found Peterson playing concise (around three-minute) versions of tunes, and he always kept the melody in the forefront. The results are not innovative or unique, but they are tasteful and reasonably enjoyable. Since five of the songs are played by both groups, a comparison between the two units is interesting.“ -Scott Yanow

1. It Ain’t Necessarily So 02:49
2. The Man I Love 03:08
3. Love Walked In 02:49
4. I Was Doing All Right 02:50
5. A Foggy Day 02:55
6. Oh Lady Be Good 03:02
7. Love Is Here To Stay 02:59
8. They All Laughed 02:31
9. Let’s Call The Whole Thing Off 02:20
10. Summertime 02:58
11. Nice Work If You Can Get It 02:07
12. Shall We Dance? 02:16

Oscar Peterson – piano
Ray Brown – double bass
Ed Thigpen – drums

Producer: Norman Granz

Notes: Mastering Engineer: Kevin Reeves @ 4th Floor Studios



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?