Remi Panossian – DO (2018) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Rémi Panossian – DO (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz  | Time – 45:06  minutes | 408 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © jazz family

With Add Fiction, his first album released in 2011, Remi Panossian made a shining entrance onto the music scene. Playing in a trio, the young pianist from Montpellier displayed his mastery over a certain form of jazz heritage influenced by rock, funk and electro. Since then, his style has bulked up, as shown by each of his band’s recordings… Now 35 years old, Panossian changes his tune and releases his first solo album. A baptism of fire titled Do. Like the music note (C). But also like the words “island” in Korean, “path” in Japanese, “I give” in Italian and of course the ultimate English action verb… So many meanings for just two letters and as many internal resonances for Panossian on his great solo adventure.

For twelve years, whenever he wasn’t touring around the world with his trio, the pianist has performed solo every Tuesday at Le Rest’O Jazz, a club in Toulouse. In 2016, Remi Panossian left to Asia to perform solo. The need to record this music was growing. At the end of the year, Le Rest’O Jazz − his second home, twelve years of friendships, encounters and anecdotes – informed Panossian of their upcoming permanent closure upon summer 2017. That’s why he made the decision to record his solo performance in this venue filled with memories, before it shutdown. To remain as intimate as possible, he collaborated with his long-time friend and accomplice, trumpeter and composer Nicolas Garcel, entrusting him with the art direction. Together, they decided to record live, with no corrections, to remain as faithful as possible to the transpiring emotion. In this context, the lover of melodies gave a truly energetic, spellbinding and organic performance. On stage, Panossian brings his music to life, a subtle blend of poetic softness, rock references (he revisited the Rolling Stones’ Paint It Black) and lyrical musings. The Holy Scriptures are of course here (Ellington’s Caravan). Unexpected covers as well (the theme of Ryuichi Sakamoto’s Furyo). And, as listeners, we sip every note of this nuanced and colourful performance as if it were divine nectar.

01. Why Are You Falling Down
02. The Mirror
03. Paint It Black
04. Away From a Way
05. Long Time No Sea
06. Merry Christmas Mr. Lawrence
07. Caravan
08. My Own Island
09. Escape
10. Dos

Rémi Panossian, piano



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?