Royal Scottish National Orchestra, Neeme Jarvi – Wagner: Meistersinger, an Orchestral Tribute (2011) [theClassicalShop FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Royal Scottish National Orchestra, Neeme Jarvi – Wagner: Meistersinger, an Orchestral Tribute (2011)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 01:19:45 minutes | 1,33 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: theClassicalShop | Digital Booklet | © Chandos

Neeme Järvi conducts the Royal Scottish National Orchestra in the fourth album of their Wagner series. Their performances on the previous three volumes have received high critical acclaim. American Record Guide wrote of Volume 1: This is wonderful playing and sound Järvi knows exactly what to do to make the music speak. The orchestra sounds better than Ive ever heard them. This disc features a symphonic arrangement by the Dutch composer and percussionist Henk de Vlieger of Wagners only comic opera, Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg. It is the only opera by Wagner centred round a specific time and place in history, rather than a mythical or legendary past. The story takes place in Nuremberg during the middle of the sixteenth century, and revolves around the real-life guild of the Master Singers, an association of amateur poets and musicians who developed a craftsman-like approach to music-making. Wagner left the two early Entreactes tragiques unfinished, the first only partially orchestrated, and they are heard here in orchestrations completed by De Vlieger. Completing the disc are the seldom performed and recorded Overture to Columbus, and Eine Faust-Ouvertüre by Wagner. Written in 1835, when Wagner was just twenty-two years old, the Weber-influenced Columbus Overture introduces the play by Theodor Apel. His Faust-Overture followed in 1840. Taking its inspiration from Goethes famous play, this work, together with Hector Berliozs Symphonie fantastique, became the main example of nineteenth-century programme music.

Conductor Neemi Jarvi pushes the excellent Royal Scottish National Orchestra through the score at a fair lick,and brings a bouncy,Tiggerish feel to the proceedings. *** -Classic fm Magazine,Nov’11

It all sounds superb,and on SACD,better still. Performance **** Recording ***** -BBC Music Magazine.Christmas’11


Richard Wagner (1813-1883)

Die Meistersinger von Nurnberg (The Mastersingers of Nuremberg)
(an Orchestral Tribute, arr. H. de Vlieger)
01. I. Vorspiel (9:25)
02. II. Versammlung der Meistersinger (5:06)
03. III. Gesang der Lehrbuben (2:25)
04. IV. Sachsens Monologue (2:59)
05. V. Vorspiel III (4:52)
06. VI. Taufspruch (3:17)
07. VII. Zöge der Zönfte (5:04)
08. VIII. Tanz der Lehrbuben (2:56)
09. IX. Aufzug der Meistersinger (2:44)
10. X. Walther’s Preislied (5:48)
11. XI. Schlussgesang (3:24)

Eine Faust-Overture (A Faust Overture)
12. Eine Faust Ouverture (11:11)

Deux Entreactes tragiques (arr. H. de Vlieger)
13. I. Allegro (8:17)
14. II. Allegro con brio (4:17)

Overture to Сolumbus (arr. F. Mottl)
15. Overture to Columbus (8:05)

Royal Scottish National Orchestra
Neeme Järvi – conductor



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?