Russ Garcia Orchestra – Four Horns And A Lush Life (1956/2014) [PrestoClassical FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Russ Garcia Orchestra – Four Horns And A Lush Life (1956/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 37:08 minutes | 612 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: PrestoClassical | Front Cover | © Bethlehem Records

Russ Garcia arranges this unique album of all-star trombone music starring Frank Rosolino, Herbie Harper and Tommy Pederson on slide trombones and Maynard Ferguson on valve trombone. The rest of the band members are no slouches either: Dick Holgate plays baritone sax, Marty Paich is on piano, Stan Levey is the drummer and Red Mitchell plays bass. The choice of material on this 1956 album includes songs by Cole Porter, George Gershwin and Noel Coward along with a Russ Garcia original.

Russ Garcia was a popular arranger in the mid-’50s, often working with some of the best jazz artists of the day. On this session for Bethlehem, he conducts an octet with four trombonists (including Maynard Ferguson, Frank Rosolino, Herbie Harper and Tommy Pederson), plus baritone saxophonist Dick Houlgate, pianist Marty Paich, bassist Red Mitchell and drummer Stan Levey. Most of Garcia’s cool arrangements are of standards, while his “I’ll Never Forget What’s Her Name (The Lo-est)” is a barely disguised reworking of the chord changes to “Fine and Dandy.” Obviously, the trombonists are the primary focus of the solos, though Paich, Houlgate and Mitchell get a chance to get in a few licks of their own. Garcia’s use of a trombone choir is very effective in the warm treatment of “Lush Life” and a cooking “What Is This Thing Called Love.”

01 – I’ll Never Forget What’s Her Name (The Lo-est)
02 – But Beautiful
03 – Dancing On The Ceiling
04 – The Boy Next Door
05 – Just One of Those Things: Just One Of Those Things
06 – Zigeuner
07 – Limehouse Blues
08 – Lush Life
09 – Lover Come Back to Me: Lover, Come Back To Me
10 – Ramona
11 – Someone To Watch Over Me
12 – What Is This Thing Called Love?

Recorded in Hollywood on November 14, 1955.
Remastered in 2014.

Frank Rosolino – trombone
Herbie Harper – trombone
Maynard Ferguson – trombone
Tommy Pederson – trombone
Dick Houlgate – baritone sax
Marty Paich – piano
Red Mitchell – bass
Stan Levey – drums
Russell Garcia – Conductor



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?