Seether – Poison The Parish {Deluxe Edition} (2017) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Seether – Poison The Parish {Deluxe Edition} (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz  | Time – 59:53 minutes | 729 MB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Booklet, Front Cover | © Caroline Records

“Poison the Parish” is the 7th studio album by South African rock band Seether. Loudly and proudly proclaimed as Seether’s heaviest, Poison The Parish comes on the heels of the trio’s two most successful albums, 2011’s Holding Onto Strings Better Left to Fray and 2014’s Isolate and Medicate. Produced for the first time by the group’s frontman Shaun Morgan, Poison The Parish features the top 25 rock radio track Let You Down, previewed by the band months in advance. Subsequent teasers leading up to this release include Stoke The Fire, Nothing Left and Count Me Out.

One of the most enduring acts to come out of the post-grunge boom of the early 2000s, South Africa’s Seether have managed to remain true to their Nirvana/Soundgarden-loving roots while maintaining just enough forward-thinking momentum to stay relevant. Poison the Parish is the band’s seventh studio long-player, and their first to be issued via frontman Shaun Morgan’s label imprint Canine Riot Records – he also handles all of the production duties. A much beefier affair than 2014’s perfectly meaty but slick corporate Isolate and Medicate, the 12-track set – there is also a deluxe edition that adds three more cuts – is by far the group’s heaviest outing to date, but Seether have always leaned harder on the alt-rock side of the post-grunge spectrum, so as per usual, all of that might is tempered by hooks aplenty. Opener “Stoke the Fire” does just what its title implies, delivering slow burn grooves and a circuitous lead melody that falls somewhere between Alice in Chains and Load-era Metallica. Follow-up “Betray and Degrade” fares even better on the earworm front, as does the stripped-down lead single “Let You Down,” but things start to bleed together as the LP reaches its mid-section, with competent, yet largely forgettable midtempo offerings like “Against the Wall” and “Let Me Heal” hitting the breaks on what was initially a pretty wild ride. Luckily, things pick up again with the punishing “Nothing Left” and the unabashedly Nevermind-esque “Count Me Out” – the brooding, acoustic-led closer “Sell My Soul” gets by on mood alone. Poison the Parish doesn’t deviate too far from the structural blueprints of prior outings, but it’s hardly the work of a band just going through the motions. By attaining autonomy, Seether seems to have rediscovered their vitality.

01 – Stoke The Fire
02 – Betray And Degrade
03 – Something Else
04 – I’ll Survive
05 – Let You Down
06 – Against The Wall
07 – Let Me Heal
08 – Saviours
09 – Nothing Left
10 – Count Me Out
11 – Emotionless
12 – Sell My Soul
13 – Feels Like Dying
14 – Misunderstood
15 – Take A Minute

Produced by Shaun Morgan.
Recorded at The Blackbird Studio, Nashville, TN.

Shaun Morgan – vocals, guitar
Dale Stewart – bass, vocals
John Humphrey – drums



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?