St. Lucia – Matter (2016) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

St. Lucia – Matter (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz | Time – 53:53 minutes | 720 MB | Genre: Alternative
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Digital Booklet | © Columbia

St. Lucia’s (aka Jean-Philip Grobler) second album continues his love of 80s inflected pop. “Matter” is the much anticipated follow-up to St. Lucia s breakthrough debut album, ‘When The Night’. The new album is produced by Chris Zane (Passion Pit, The Walkmen), and is a departure for principal songwriter and bandleader Jean-Philip Grobler, who takes a more direct, essential approach. In his words, “If the last album sounded like the tropics, this album is the desert”. St. Lucia’s version of the desert is still an inviting place, though, one inspired by blending Grobler’s fearless embrace of 80’s pop, R&B, and alternative rock influences into an instantly captivating concoction.

Brooklyn’s St. Lucia return with their second album of buoyant, infectiously melodic synth pop, 2016’s Matter. The album follows up the group’s acclaimed 2013 effort, When the Night. As with that album, Matter showcases the talents of lead singer/songwriter Jean-Philip Grobler, who has expanded St. Lucia from a solo effort into a full-fledged band. In many ways, Matter picks up where When the Night left off, with a set of anthemic songs that often sound as if they were culled from the soundtrack to an ’80s John Hughes film. However, where When the Night hewed closer to the modern indie pop of band’s like MGMT and Foster the People, on Matter, Grobler zeroes in on his older influences, crafting an album that’s much closer to 1986 than 2016. This kind of pastel- and DayGlo-hued dance music vibe permeates all of Matter, and cuts like “Do You Remember” and the sparkling “Dancing on Glass” showcase Grobler’s highly resonant vocal chops, bringing to mind Songs from the Big Chair-era Tears for Fears. Similarly, tracks like “Game 4 U,” “Rescue Me,” and “The Winds of Change,” mix pulsing keyboards and crystalline guitar lines much in the same way band’s like the Fixx and Duran Duran did in their prime. That said, while Grobler certainly displays an obvious love for vintage new wave and synth pop, these songs wouldn’t be as compelling if they weren’t crafted as well as they are. Ultimately, Matter is an uplifting, hooky album that makes synthy, ’80s romance sound as fresh as ever.

01 – Do You Remember
02 – Home
03 – Dancing On Glass
04 – Physical
05 – Game 4 U
06 – The Winds of Change
07 – Love Somebody
08 – Rescue Me
09 – Stay
10 – Help Me Run Away
11 – Always



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?