Stefano Battaglia – Pelagos (2017) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Stefano Battaglia – Pelagos (2017) 
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 02:11:59  minutes | 1,9 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Booklet, Front Cover | © ECM Records

Manfred Eicher’s strong personal involvement in the production of every album released under his ECM label is well documented. In Stefano Battaglia’s Pelagos, the Munich guru went as far as rearranging the Milanese pianist’s sessions. Combining piano and prepared piano (sometimes simultaneously!), these recordings of original compositions, spontaneous improvisations and traditional Arabic songs were captured both live in a concert venue and during intimate sessions at the Fazioli Concert Hall in Sacile, Italy, in May 2016. Thus in retrospect Eicher rearranged them to − in his own terms −“inject them with a new fantastic form, based on a completely renewed dramaturgy.” The eclecticism of the material, as well as its sheer weight (over two hours and ten minutes of music!) make this a truly impressive work. And the use of the word “dramaturgy” suits it rather well. Regardless, one journeys through Pelagos in one sitting, sometimes being caught off guard by a few twists and surprises. A feeling owed, no doubt, to the founder of ECM. As for Battaglia, he draws from his wide range of influences (Paul Bley, Bill Evans, Keith Jarrett) to offer us a rather varied style, in perfect osmosis with the play, of which he is both the author and the main character. A great solo piano album.


1 Destino 06:20
2 Pelagos 10:12
3 Migralia 12:24
4 Lamma Bada Yatathanna 04:51
5 Processional 05:24
6 Halap 08:39
7 Dogon 01:47
8 Life 10:59
9 Lampedusa 07:08
10 Hora Mundi 14:07
11 Lamma Bada Yatathanna (Variation) 03:37
12 Exilium 09:24
13 Migration Mantra 11:34
14 Horgos E Roszke 06:45
15 Ufratu 05:37
16 Heron 05:37
17 Brenner Toccata 07:42

Stefano Battaglia, piano



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?