Stephen Cleobury – The King of Instruments: A Voice Reborn (2017) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Stephen Cleobury – The King of Instruments: A Voice Reborn (2017) 
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz  | Time – 01:03:37 minutes | 1,9 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Digital Booklet | © Choir of King’s College, Cambridge

The Harrison & Harrison organ in King’s College Chapel is, like the College Choir, famous the world over. The organ case with gilded pipework, which surmounts the 16th century screen, is a striking feature of nearly every depiction of the interior of the Chapel, while the instantly recognizable sounds of the instrument have become inextricably associated with those of the Choir.

In January 2016, the instrument – including its 4,300 pipes – was removed from King’s College Chapel for the most significant restoration since the 1960s. Just nine months later, the project was completed, with the famous organ secured for future generations.

Recorded just a few months after the restored organ was heard in public once more, this album celebrates a voice reborn, with a varied programme of music that shows off this magnificent instrument at its very best.

Unusually for such a busy conductor, Stephen Cleobury has remained active as an organist. A former president of the Royal College of Organists, he gives regular performances in the weekly recitals at the King’s Chapel, while his recordings have been championed for their virtuosity and musical insight.


Simon Preston (1938)
1 Alleluyas 05:18

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685 – 1750)
2 Wir gläuben all an einen Gott, BWV 680: Wir glauben all an einen Gott, BWV 680 03:33
3 Christ, unser Herr, zum Jordan kam, BWV 684 04:34
4 Kyrie, Gott heiliger Geist, BWV 671 04:16

Felix Mendelssohn (1809 – 1847)
Organ Sonata in F Minor, Op. 65, No. 1, MWV W56
5 I. Allegro moderato e serioso 05:27
6 II. Adagio 03:01
7 III. Andante 02:50
8 IV. Allegro assai vivace 03:46

Harvey Grace (1874 – 1944)
9 Resurgam 08:21

César Franck (1822 – 1890)
10 3 Pièces pour grand orgue: 3 Pieces for Organ: No. 3. Pièce héroïque in B Minor, M. 37 08:52

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685 – 1750)
Das Orgelbüchlein
11 In dir ist Freude, BWV 615 02:42
12 O Mensch, bewein dein Sunde gross, BWV 622 05:13
13 Heut triumphieret Gottes Sohn, BWV 630 01:26

George C. Baker (1951)
14Procession Royale 04:11

Stephen Cleobury, organ



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?