The Danish Radio Big Band – Charlie Watts Meets The Danish Radio Big Band (2017) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

The Danish Radio Big Band – Charlie Watts Meets The Danish Radio Big Band (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz  | Time – 51:53 minutes | 617 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz  | Front Cover | © Impulse!

Rolling Stones drummer Charlie Watts returns to his jazz roots with the Danish Radio Big Band on this album, recorded live in 2010. Watts and the band rehearsed for four days before playing a concert at the newly opened Danish Radio Concert Hall in Copenhagen which was taped for broadcast by Danish National Radio. After several years, a souvenir of that historic gig is now available. Watts is one of the great ambassadors of jazz and while every jazz lover will relish the performance, his involvement may bring jazz to the attention of some Stones fans who are not even sure if they like jazz.

Should you need convincing that the Rolling Stones drummer is also a serious jazz musician, spend some time with these seven tracks, which find him quite at home in some very fast company indeed. Jamming is one thing; finding oneself in the midst of one of Europe’s top jazz orchestras is something else, and Charlie Watts handles it with aplomb. The music, arranged and conducted by trumpeter and fellow Brit Gerard Presencer, is taken from a live concert. Naturally, there are three Stones numbers, heavily disguised, including a terrific Paint It Black, featuring Presencer. The big showpiece, though, is Watts’s Elvin Suite, climaxed by his duet with drummer Søren Frost.

01 – Elvin Suite, Pt. 1
02 – Elvin Suite, Pt. 2
03 – (Satis) Faction
04 – I Should Care
05 – You Can’t Always Get What You Want
06 – Paint It Black
07 – Molasses

Recorded Live in 2010 at Danish Radio Concert Hall, Copenhagen, Denmark.

The Danish Radio Big Band:
Gerard Presencer – Co-Arranger, Conductor, Producer, Flugelhorn
David Green – Acoustic Bass Guitar
Per Gade – Guitar
Steen Rasmussen – Fender Rhodes, Piano
Nicolai Schultz – Flute
Pernille Bévort – Saxophone
Lars Møller – Saxophone
Uffe Markussen – Saxophone
Vincent Nilsson – Trombone
Peter Jensen – Trombone
Steen Nikolaj Hansen – Trombone
Anders Gustafsson – Trumpet
+ Charlie Watts – Drums



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?