The Pretenders – Learning To Crawl (1984/2013) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

The Pretenders – Learning To Crawl (1984/2013)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 1:09:18 minutes | 1,79 GB | Genre: Rock, Pop
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: | Front cover | © WM UK

Learning To Crawl is Pretenders’ 1984 Platinum-selling masterpiece. The album is widely considered one of Rock N’ Roll’s greatest classics. Reaching the Billboard Top Five, the recording includes the astounding tunes “Middle Of The Road,” “Back On The Chain Gang,” “2000 Miles” and “My City Was Gone.” Learning To Crawl remains one of the band’s finest albums.

Chrissie Hynde took a long, hard road to rock & roll stardom, but when her band, the Pretenders, finally broke through in 1979, they wasted no time, growing from promising newcomers on the British music scene to major international stardom with a pair of smash albums to their credit in a mere three years. But the Pretenders’ meteoric rise came to a crashing halt in 1982, when drug abuse claimed the life of guitarist James Honeyman-Scott and forced Hynde and drummer Martin Chambers to dump bassist Pete Farndon, who would also succumb to an OD in April 1983. Hynde was forced by circumstance to reinvent the Pretenders for their third album, 1984’s Learning to Crawl, but if the new edition of the group lacked some of the spark of the band that made the first two LPs, through sheer force of will Hynde created a masterpiece. While Hynde hardly held back in her emotionally potent songwriting in the Pretenders’ early work, on Learning to Crawl there’s a gravity to her lyrics that blended with her tough but wiry melodic sense and streetwise intelligence to create a set of truly remarkable tunes. “Back on the Chain Gang” is a touching tribute to her fallen comrades that still sounds bitterly rueful, “Middle of the Road” is a furious rocker that explores the emotional and physical toll of a musician’s life, “Time the Avenger” is a taut, literate examination of a businessman’s adulterous relationship, “My City Was Gone” deals with the economic and cultural decay of the Midwest in a manner both pithy and genuinely heartfelt, and “2000 Miles” is a Christmas number that demonstrates Hynde can be warm without getting sappy. As a guitarist, Robbie McIntosh brought a simpler and more elemental style to the Pretenders than James Honeyman-Scott, but his tough, muscular leads fit these songs well, and bassist Malcolm Foster’s solid punch fits Chambers’ drumming perfectly. Three albums into her recording career, Chrissie Hynde found herself having to put the past to bed and carve out a new beginning for herself with Learning to Crawl, but she pulled it off with a striking mixture of courage, strength, and great rock & roll; with the exception of the instant-classic debut album, it’s the Pretenders’ finest work.

01 – Middle Of The Road
02 – Back On The Chain Gang
03 – Time The Avenger
04 – Watching The Clothes
05 – Show Me
06 – Thumbelina
07 – My City Was Gone
08 – Thin Line Between Love And Hate
09 – I Hurt You
10 – 2000 Miles
11 – Fast Or Slow (The Law’s The Law)
12 – Tequila
13 – I Hurt You (Denmark Street Demo)
14 – When I Change My Life (Denmark Street Demo)
15 – Ramblin’ Rob (Denmark Street Demo)
16 – My City Was Gone (Live)
17 – Money (Live)

Note: Bonus tracks 11-17 are 44.1kHz/16bit.



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?