Toronto Symphony Orchestra, Sir Andrew Davis – Handel: Messiah, HWV 56 (2016) [theCLASSICALshop FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

George Frideric Handel – Messiah, HWV 56 – Toronto Symphony Orchestra, Sir Andrew Davis (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 01:54:04 minutes |  3,66 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download  | Source: theCLASSICALshop | Front cover , Booklet | © Chandos Records
Recorded: Roy Thomson Hall, Toronto, Ontario, Canada; December 2015

Experience the transcendent glory of Messiah in Sir Andrew Davis’s new, majestic, must-hear edition of Handel’s beloved classic.
Recorded live for SACD release in surround sound, this unique version makes use of all the colours available from the modern symphony orchestra to underline the mood and meaning of the individual movements. Without detracting from the innate power of the original, the conductor’s score calls for moments of drama, pathos, and even, sometimes, whimsicality. It is supported by substantial brass and woodwind forces, and several percussion instruments (including marimba!).
As he explains in a very personal booklet note, this leading British conductor brings immense dedication to what is probably the most famous piece of British sacred music ever composed, this version being one which he has conducted live only a few times, including on this recording. He confesses: ‘Everything I have done instrumentally stems from the enormous respect, even awe, which I feel towards this supreme masterpiece’.


George Frideric Handel (1685-1759)
Messiah, HWV 56 (1741)
Oratorio in Three Parts
New Concert Edition by Sir Andrew Davis
‘In Memory of My Mother and Father’

Part 1
1. 1. Overture (Sinfony). Grave – Allegro moderato – 3:37
2. 2. Accompagnato. Tenor: ‘Comfort ye, comfort ye my people’. Larghetto 2:33
3. 3. Air. Tenor: ‘Ev’ry valley shall be exalted’. Andante 3:21
4. 4. Chorus: ‘And the Flory of the Lord shall be revealed’. Allegro giocoso – Adagio 2:35
5. 5. Accompagnato. Bass: ‘Thus saith the Lord’. Solenne 1:31
6. 6. Air. Mezzo-soprano: ‘But who may abide the day of his coming!’. Larghetto – Prestissimo – Larghetto – Prestissimo – Adagio 4:01
7. 7. Chorus: ‘And He shall purify the sons of Levi’ 2:31
8. 8. Recitative. Mezzo-soprano: ‘Behold! A virgin shall conceive’ 0:29
9. 9. Air. Mezzo-soprano and Chorus: ‘O thou that tellest good tidings to Zion’. Andante 5:07
10. 10. Accompagnato. Bass: ‘For behold, darkness shall cover the earth’. Andante larghetto 2:20
11. 11. Air. Bass: ‘The people that walked in darkness have seen a great light’. Larghetto 3:09
12. 12. Chorus: ‘For unto us a Child is born’. Andante allegro 4:04
13. 13. Pastoral Symphony (Pifa). Larghetto – 0:53
14. 14A. Recitative. Soprano: ;There were shepherds abiding in the field’. [ ] 0:14
15. 14B. Accompagnato. Soprano: ‘And lo, the angel of the Lord came upon them’. Andante 0:21
16. 15. Recitative. Soprano: ‘And the angel said unto them’ 0:38
17. 16. Accompagnato. Soprano: ‘And suddenly there was with the angel a multitude…’. Allegro 0:18
18. 17. Chorus: ‘Glory to God in the highest’. L’istesso tempo 2:04
19. 18. Air. Soprano: ‘Rejoice greatly, O daughter of Zion’. Allegro – Meno mosso – Tempo I – [ ] – Tempo I 4:45
20. 19. Recitative. Mezzo-soprano: ‘Then shall the eyes of the blind be open’d’ 0:28
21. 20. Duet. Mezzo-soprano and Soprano: ‘He shall feed His flock like a shepherd’. Larghetto – 5:21
22. 21. Chorus: ‘His yoke is easy’. Not too fast and with lots of bounce! 2:24

Part 2
23. 22. Chorus: ‘Behold the Lamb of God’. Largo 2:56
24. 23. Air. Mezzo-soprano: ‘He was despised and rejected of men’. Largo 5:11
25. 24. Chorus: ‘Surely, He hath borne our griefs and carried our sorrows’. Largo e staccato – 1:54
26. 25. Chorus: ‘And with His stripes we are healed’. Alle breve moderato – 1:49
27. 26. Chorus: ‘All we like sheep have gone astray’. Allegro moderato – Adagio 3:56
28. 27. Accompagnato. Tenor: ‘All they that see Him laugh Him to scorn’. Larghetto – 0:43
29. 28. Chorus: ‘He trusted in God that He would deliver Him’. Allegro 2:20
30. 29. Accompagnato. ‘Tenor: ‘Thy rebuke hath broken His Heart’. Largo 1:42
31. 30. Arioso. Tenor: ‘Behold, and see if there by any sorrow like unto His sorrow’. Largo e piano 1:16
32. 31. Accompagnato. Tenor: ‘He was cut off out of the land of the living’ 0:16
33. 32. Air. Tenor: ‘But thou didst not leave His soul in Hell’. Andante larghetto 2:07
34. 33. Chorus: ‘Lift up your heads, O ye gates’. A tempo ordinario 3:13
35. 37. Chorus: ‘The Lord gave the word’. Andante allegro – 1:00
36. 38. Air. Soprano: ‘How beautiful are the feet of them that preach the gospel of peace’. Larghetto 2:07
37. 40. Air. Bass: ‘Who do the nations so furiously rage together’. Allegro – 2:52
38. 41. Chorus: ‘Let us break their bonds asunder’. Allegro e staccato 1:48
39. 42. Recitative. Tenor: ‘He that dwelleth in heaven shall laugh them to scorn’ – 0:15
40. 43. Air. Tenor: ‘Thou shalt break them with a rod of iron’. Andante 1:55
41. 44. Chorus: ‘Hallelujah!’. Allegro 3:48

Part 3
42. 45. Air. Soprano: ‘I know that my Redeemer liveth’. Larghetto 6:16
43. 46. Chorus: ‘Since by man came death’. Grave – Allegro – Grave – Allegro 2:07
44. 47. Accompagnato. Bass: ‘Behold, I tell you a mystery’ 0:35
45. 48. Air. Bass: ‘The trumpet shall sound’. Pomposo, ma non allegro 4:10
46. 53. Chorus: ‘Worthy is the Lamb that was slain’. Largo – Larghetto – Allegro moderato 6:58

Erin Wall, soprano
Elizabeth DeShong, mezzo-soprano
Andrew Staples, tenor
John Relyea, bass
Toronto Mendelssohn Choir
Noel Edison, artistic director
Toronto Symphony Orchestra
Jonathan Crow, concertmaster
Sir Andrew Davis, conductor



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?