VA – Conception (1956/2016) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Miles Davis, Stan Getz, Gerry Mulligan, Lee Konitz, Sonny Rollins, Zoot Sims – Conception (1956/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 39:48 minutes | 945 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Booklet, Front Cover | © Prestige Records

“Conception” is a compilation album issued by Prestige Records in 1956 as PRLP 7013, featuring Miles Davis on a number of tracks. Miles Davis is but one of the featured performers on this compilation album consisting of various tracks released on 10-inch vinyl and 78s, recorded in New York City between 1949 and 1951. In addition to Davis, other key figures on the album include Sonny Rollins, Stan Getz, Gerry Mulligan, Lee Konitz and Zoot Sims. The tracks had all been previously released by Prestige in discontinued formats, either on 10 inch LPs, or as 78rpm singles.

A unique all-star set recorded in various combinations between 1949 and 1951, Conception is an underappreciated masterpiece of cerebral cool jazz. Although Miles Davis gets top billing, he appears on only half the album and then most often as a sideman with only occasional solos. Saxophonists Lee Konitz, Stan Getz, and Gerry Mulligan are the true stars of the album, with Konitz particularly shining. His two duets with guitarist Billy Bauer, a relaxed take on Victor Herbert’s standard “Indian Summer” and his own “Duet for Saxophone and Guitar,” are outstanding examples of cool jazz as the term was originally understood before it came to signify new age-leaning elevator music; Konitz’s solos in “Indian Summer” disassemble the melody entirely while remaining accessibly tonal, and Bauer’s filigree guitar lines stay clear of the uninspired comping of so many jazz guitarists while never sounding overly busy. Of the full-band pieces, Davis’ solo spotlight on George Shearing’s “Conception” finds the trumpeter in transition from the still soundscapes of the Birth of the Cool sessions to the more aggressive playing of his Capitol sets, and Stan Getz’s two showcases, the originals “Prezervation” and “Intoit,” feature the saxophonist in his early role as a committed Lester Young disciple, fronting a solid rhythm trio featuring the underrated pianist Al Haig. An excellent album featuring some outstanding and varied tracks, Conception is well worth seeking out.

01. Lee Konitz & Miles Davis – Odjenar
02. Lee Konitz & Miles Davis – Hibeck
03. Lee Konitz & Miles Davis – Yesterdays
04. Lee Konitz & Miles Davis – Ezz-thetic
05. Lee Konitz – Indian Summer
06. Lee Konitz – Duet For Saxophone And Guitar
07. Miles Davis & Sonny Rollins – Conception
08. Miles Davis & Sonny Rollins – My Old Flame
09. Stan Getz – Intoit
10. Stan Getz – Prezervation
11. Gerry Mulligan – I May Be Wrong
12. Gerry Mulligan & Zoot Sims – So What



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?