Zuill Bailey, Paul Jacobs – Daugherty: Tales of Hemingway (2016) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Zuill Bailey, Paul Jacobs – Daugherty: Tales of Hemingway (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96kHz  | Time – 01:17:40 minutes |1,42 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download  | Digital Booklet | © Naxos

GRAMMY® Award-winning composer Michael Daugherty creates colorful musical portraits in this recording, featuring larger-than-life personalities drawn from 20th-century American culture. Tales of Hemingway is a dramatic cello concerto, evoking the turbulent life, adventures and literature of author Ernest Hemingway. American Gothic is a dynamic concerto for orchestra, reflecting on the creative world of Iowa artist Grant Wood. Once Upon a Castle is a virtuosic sinfonia concertante for organ and orchestra, inspired by the rich history of the Hearst Castle, built lhigh upon the California Pacific coast by billionaire Randolph Hearst, the subject of Orson Welles’ film Citizen Kane. Under the baton of Music Director Giancarlo Guerrero, the GRAMMY® Award-winning Nashville Symphony is joined by Zuill bailey, one of the leading cellists of his generation, and GRAMMY® Award-winning organist Paul Jacobs.

*** GRAMMY WINNER, 59TH AWARDS: Best Classical Instrumental Solo, Best Classical Compendium & Best Contemporary Classical Composition ***

Classics Today 10/10: Artistic Qualit 10/ Sound Quality 10

“Tales of Hemingway does exactly what a good modern cello concerto is supposed to do: it exploits every facet the solo’s expressive range, from soulful melody to virtuoso pyrotechnics, and it gives Zuill Bailey a rich opportunity to show off his impressive technique and seductive timbre amid the most wide-ranging and colorful accompaniments…

…Daugherty just might have saved the best for last. It’s great to see composers writing appealing music for organ and orchestra given the recent and welcome trend to install new, expensive, technically marvelous concert hall organs in performing arts centers, and this piece is a whopper. Its nominal inspiration (by way of the film Citizen Kane) is Hearst Castle in San Simeon, California, as ostentatious and vulgar a building as anyone has yet attempted. Any large work for organ and orchestra simply must plumb the depths of bombast-hopefully in a good way-and Daugherty literally pulls out all of the stops in this one. The finale has all of the glitz and glamor of the gilded age (sound clip), and the piece surely deserves repertoire status-but then, all of these works do.

It only remains to be said that the performances, excellently recorded live before a very courteous audience, bring the music vividly to life. The Nashville Symphony really is a fine ensemble. Giancarlo Guerrero conducts with evident enthusiasm, and as already suggested the soloists, cellist Zuill Bailey and organist Paul Jacobs, couldn’t be better. Give this one a shot; you’ll be glad you did.” -David Hurwitz, ClassicsToday.com


Michael Daugherty (1954-)

Tales of Hemingway
1. I. Big Two – Hearted River 00:05:35
2. II. For Whom the Bell Tolls 00:06:12
3. III. The Old Man and the Sea 00:06:43
4. IV. The Sun Also Rises 00:09:58

Show Details American Gothic
5. I. On a Roll 00:05:29
6. II. Winter Dreams 00:09:08
7. III. Pitchfork 00:07:12

Show Details Once Upon A Castle (revised 2015 version)
8. I. The Winding Road to San Simon 00:06:37
9. II. Neptune Pool 00:06:52
10. III. Rosebud 00:04:44
11. IV. Xanadu 00:09:13



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?