Arne Domnerus – Jazz At The Pawnshop 3: Good Vibes (1976/2017) [HDTracks DSF DSD128/5,6MHz + FLAC 24bit/176,4kHz]

Various Artists – Jazz At The Pawnshop 3: Good Vibes (1976/2017) 
DSD128 (.dsf) 1 bit/5,6 MHz MHz | Time – 55:08 minutes | 4,36 GB
or FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/176,4 kHz | Time – 55:08 minutes | 2,04 GB
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Artwork: Digital booklet

The recordings that comprise Jazz At The Pawnshop, made by recording engineer Gert Palmcrantz in 1976, are widely regarded by audiophiles as the best jazz recordings of the 20th Century. Jazz At The Pawnshop 3 is the last in this series that revisits the legendary Stockholm sessions from musicians Arne Domnerus, Bengt Hallberg, Georg Riedel, Egil Johansen, and Lars Erstrand, presenting five previously unreleased tracks that highlight the unique relationship these jazz musicians have, their fervent improvisations bonding them to each other and to their audience.

Jazz at the Pawnshop is considered one of the most famous audiophile albums in music. Recorded over two nights at the intimate Pawnshop jazz club in Stockholm, both the musicianship and the engineering came together in a magical symbiosis captured on this enduring classic. Recording engineer Gert Palmcrantz used one pair of microphones spaced eight inches apart for the main pick-up, with a couple of microphones placed to register the “live” atmosphere and a few discrete support mikes, all recorded on a pair of two-track Nagra tape recorders in the restaurant kitchen!

Taken entirely from the second of a legendary two-day engagement at Stockholm’s Pawnshop club, this third of four CDs that fully document the gig puts the focus on vibraphonist Lars Erstrand who even gets top billing. Arne Domnerus on alto and clarinet co-stars and the rhythm section (pianist Bengt Hallberg, bassist Georg Riedel and drummer Egil Johansen) is also excellent. With the exception of a Charlie Parker blues (“Now’s the Time”), the quintet sticks to swing and Dixieland standards and there are many swinging moments on such tunes as “In a Mellow Tone,” “Take the ‘A’ Train” and “Struttin’ with Some Barbeque.” All of the volumes in this enjoyable series are worth picking up by straightahead jazz fans.

01 – Now’s the Time
02 – Out of Nowhere
03 – In a Mellotone: In a Mellow Tone
04 – Take the A Train
05 – Going Places: Jeepers Creepers: Jeepers Creepers
06 – Struttin’ with some Barbeque

Recorded on December 7, 1976 in Old Town Jazz Club (The Pawnshop), Stampen, Sweden.
2xHD Mastering: René Laflamme. 2xHD Executive Producer: André Perry.

Arne Domnérus – alto saxophone, clarinet
Lars Erstrand – vibraphone
Bengt Hallberg – piano
Georg Riedel – acoustic bass
Egil Johansen – drums





We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?