Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra & Kirill Karabits – Walton: Symphonies Nos. 1 & 2 (2017) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra & Kirill Karabits – Walton: Symphonies Nos. 1 & 2 (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 01:13:42 minutes | 1,3 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download  | Booklet, Front Cover | © Onyx Classics

Walton’s First Symphony burst onto the musical scene in 1935 and quickly became recognised as a masterpiece. The influence of Sibelius and Beethoven can clearly be heard, but it is Walton’s brilliant use of the orchestra and grasp of form that shines through: a remarkable achievement for a composer of 33 years. The Second symphony has never had an easy time, in both escaping the shadow of its older sibling, and in overcoming the hostility of the late 1950s and early ’60s when avant-garde was de rigeur. Fortunately it is now clearly a masterpiece to rank alongside No.1. It is assured, mature and confident, subtle and refined, from a composer at the top of his game. High voltage performances from Kirill Karabits and the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra.

The Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra is Classic FM’s Orchestra in the South of England. It was formed in 1893 and throughout its illustrious history it has worked with some of the finest composers, conductors and musicians in the world including Elgar, Bartók, Sibelius, Holst, Stravinsky, Vaughan Williams and Sir Thomas Beecham.

William Walton (1902-1983)
Symphony No.1 in B-Flat Minor
1 I. Allegro assai 13:52
2 II. Scherzo. Presto con malizia 06:25
3 III. Andante con malinconia10:42
4 IV. Maestoso. Brioso ed ardentemente 12:22
Symphony No.2
5 I. Allegro molto 09:51
6 II. Lento assai 10:33
7 III. Passacaglia (Theme – variations 1-10 – Fugue – Coda scherzando) 09:57

Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra
Kirill Karabits, conductor



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?