Nicola Benedetti, Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra, Kirill Karabits – Shostakovich, Glazunov: Violin Concertos (2016) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Dmitri Shostakovich, Alexander Glazunov – Violin Concertos – Nicola Benedetti, Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra, Kirill Karabits (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 58:57 minutes | 1,1 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Artwork: Digital booklet | © Decca
Recorded: The Lighthouse, Poole, 9 & 10 April 2015 (Shostakovich) & 14 December 2015 (Glazunov)

Sensational violinist Nicola Benedetti returns with a riveting recording of Shostakovich’s monumental Violin Concerto (No. 1). This new recording follows Benedetti’s chart-topping success with Bruch’s Scottish Fantasy (Homecoming, 2014) and Korngold’s Violin Concerto (Silver Violin, 2012).

Benedetti’s own encounter with Russian music-making began in her childhood, the seriousness and intensity making a powerful impact on the young violinist: “I was thrust into a different world” says Nicola, “a little terrifying, extremely demanding but so loving, so warm”.

Together with the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra and conductor Kirill Karabits, the dark, introspective Shostakovich Violin Concerto is brought to life in a compelling performance packed full of energy, powerful torment, and breath-taking passion. The demonic scherzo notches up intensity; the passionate third movement – possibly one of the finest in the canon of violin concertos – has a grand magnificence; and the astonishing Burlesque rounds off this visceral recording.

A work with a tormented history itself – the hostile political environment of Russian state censorship at the time of composition in the 1940’s meant that Shostakovich kept the concerto unpublished until after Stalin’s death – it was first performed in 1955 by David Oistrakh, and immediately highly regarded internationally.

Programmed alongside Shostakovich’s assertive, uncompromising masterpiece, is Glazunov’s bold, colourful Violin Concerto. A late-Romantic work, the Glazunov is notable for its lyricism; Benedetti’s generous, radiant performance is uplifting and finely crafted.


Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975)
Violin Concerto No.1 In A Minor, Op.99
1. 1. Nocturne: Moderato 12:56
2. 2. Scherzo: Allegro 06:23
3. 3. Passacaglia: Andante — 09:20
4. 3. Cadenza 05:20
5. 4. Burlesque: Allegro con brio — Presto 04:53

Alexander Glazunov (1865-1936)
Violin Concerto in A minor, Op. 82
6. 1. Moderato — 04:20
7. 2. Andante sostenuto — 09:46
8. 3. Animando — 4. Allegro 06:01

Nicola Benedetti, violin
Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra
Kirill Karabits, conductor



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?