Claire Martin & Richard Rodney Bennett – Witchcraft (2011) MCH SACD ISO + DSF DSD64 + FLAC 24bit/96kHz

Claire Martin & Richard Rodney Bennett – Witchcraft (2011)
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 42:55 minutes | Front/Rear Covers | 2,41 GB
or DSD64 2.0 Stereo (from SACD-ISO to Tracks.dsf) > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | Front/Rear Covers | 1,69 GB
or FLAC Stereo (carefully converted & encoded to tracks) 24bit/96 kHz | Front/Rear Covers | 884 MB
Features Stereo and Multichannel Surround Sound | Linn Records # AKD 359

Since their first meeting in Glasgow in the early 1990s, singer Claire Martin and composer/pianist Richard Rodney Bennett have been what Martin calls ‘firm friends’, their relationship cemented by a common interest in the subtleties of songwriting and jazz singing. Witchcraft is the result of their dynamic collaboration. On this album, they perform as a (delightfully informal but consistently musicianly) duo, her intimate, deceptively unfussy vocal style perfectly complemented by his flawlessly eloquent piano. Their material is all mined from the Cy Coleman songbook.

Together, this collection weaves together the opposing talents of the sultry jazz sensation Claire Martin and the polished, savvy keyboard skills and compositional insight of Richard Rodney Bennett. Martin’s strength as one of the best interpreters of the Great American Songbook shines through in this recording. The smoky elegance of her vocal sculpts itself around the smooth flowing textures of the piano accompaniment and the occasional vocal repartee of Bennett. The result of this established partnership is mesmerising music that takes you back to a wonderful and simpler time of yesteryear.

It’s hard to believe that it was almost six years ago that they first got together. It seemed so unlikely at the time, this song-and-piano partnership between a notably feisty jazz vocalist and an esteemed composer. But now it’s accepted that their albums and shows set the standard for classic interpretations of popular songs. This time the work of Cy Coleman gets the treatment – touching, clever, beautifully poised and deceptively casual-sounding. Despite the huge success of songs such as the title number, Coleman’s name is the least well‑known of the great songwriters. This classy selection should help to put that right.


01. I’m Gonna Laugh You Right Out of My Life
02. The Best Is Yet To
03. The Rules Of The Road
04. On Second Thought
05. Ev’rybody Today Is Turning
06. Sometime When You’re Lonely
07. Let Me Down Easy
08. Nobody Does It Like Me
09. That’s My Style
10. When In Rome (I Do As The Romans)
11. Witchcraft
12. With Every Breath I Take
13. On The Other Side Of The Tracks
14. Would You Believe

Recorded on December 10-12, 2009 at British Grove Studios, London, UK.





FLAC 24bit/96kHz


We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?