Damien Done – Charm Offensive (2018) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Damien Done – Charm Offensive (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz  | Time – 41:15 minutes | 489 MB | Genre: Alternative
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © Mind Over Matter Records

Damien Done is the nom de plume of Damien Moyal, best known as frontman of iconic 90s hardcore punk bands As Friends Rust. Here, Moyal takes a sharp and decided turn from the angst of his past, instead crooning unnerving, voyeuristic tales over bleak numbers that at once touch on the doom and drawl of swampy grunge and the cold, blue sneer of dark 80s pop and post-punk.

Much like another infamous Damien, there is a dark and seedy undercurrent at the heart of what makes Charm Offensive such an alluring listen. Damien Done is the latest project from Damien Moyal – the former fixture as frontman of a number of iconic Florida hardcore bands, such as As Friends Rust, On Bodies, Shai Hulud, Culture, and Morning Again (among others), and it’s a bold left turn from the expectations his past works place on your ears. With his haunting baritone navigating a pulpy array of noir-ish tales of blackmail, voyeurism, secrecy, and guilt, Charm Offensive is a dark, moody fever dream. The arresting mixture of art rock, new wave, doom rock, and post-punk spans styles and genres to create a surprisingly cohesive and, well, charming collection. The record perfectly conjures up a lush, gloomy atmosphere; however, Damien Done’s first release is impeccably melodic and addictive. Charm Offensive is truly a treat for fans of Nick Cave, King Dude, and the darker side of new wave.

01 – The Freeze
02 – Roof Access
03 – When You Left Home
04 – The Lord Fox
05 – Curious Thing
06 – Things Are Going Great (Just You Wait)
07 – Angels Overlooking Him
08 – Who’s Gonna Believe You
09 – The Good Book
10 – Something On You

Produced by Damien Moyal and James Paul Wisner.
Mixed by James Paul Wisner at Wisner Productions.

Damien Moyal – guitar, drums, vocals, piano, synth
Bass and additional guitars recorded by James Paul Wisner at Wisner Productions
Vocals to “Curious Thing” recorded by Mike Hasty at Cloud City Studio



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?