Drive-By Truckers – American Band (2016) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Drive-By Truckers – American Band (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 46:41 minutes | 544 MB | Genre: Country
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © ATO Records

A powerful and legitimately provocative work, hard edged and finely honed, the album is the sound of a truly American Band a Southern American band speaking on matters that matter. DBT made the choice to direct the Way We Live Now head on, employing realism rather than subtext or symbolism to purge its makers own anger, discontent, and frustration with societal disintegration and the urban/rural divide that has partitioned the country for close to a half-century. Fueled by a just spirit of moral indignation and righteous rage, AMERICAN BAND is protest music fit for the stadiums, designed to raise issues and ire as the nation careens towards its most momentous election in a generation.

From their breakthrough album (2001’s Southern Rock Opera) onward, the Drive-By Truckers have never shied away from dealing with the political and philosophical divides that come with life in the American South. But as issues of race, violence, and the failings of the electoral process have come to dominate the national conversation in 2016, the Drive-By Truckers have responded with their most explicitly political album to date. American Band contains a dozen songs that deal with familiar themes for this band in some respects, but instead of pondering “the Southern Thing,” these are stories that confront all sides of a great but troubled nation, as racism means not just the mixed message of the rebel flag but the unjust death of Trayvon Martin, and one tries to come to terms with the many ways our culture is slowly changing in some ways and stubbornly refusing to evolve in others. This is music full of both fury and purpose, but with rare exceptions, American Band isn’t an album of anger but of puzzlement and concern. Patterson Hood’s songs are thoughtful journal entries informed by his experiences as a Southern man who had left his home for the Pacific Northwest, especially “Ever South” and “What It Means.” Mike Cooley, as always the Yang to Hood’s Yin, writes and sings with greater grit and Southern swagger, but he delivers some of his smartest and most eloquent work to date with “Surrender Under Protest,” “Ramon Casiano,” and “Once They Banned Imagine,” all superb studies of the flaws of human nature. And while American Band roars less than many of the band’s previous works, it still sounds like the Drive-By Truckers, carried by the guitars of Hood and Cooley, Brad Morgan’s superb drumming, and Jay Gonzalez’s evocative keyboard work. The Drive-By Truckers are too smart to believe they have the answers for America’s problems, and American Band doesn’t pretend to offer them. But they ask the right sort of questions, and these songs weren’t written for the audience to cheer along, but to encourage a debate that the country seriously needs. American Band is an op-ed column with guitars, and it presents a message well worth hearing, both as politics and as music. ~ Mark Deming

01 – Ramon Casiano
02 – Darkened Flags At The Cusp of Dawn
03 – Surrender Under Protest
04 – Guns of Umpqua
05 – Filthy and Fried
06 – Sun Don’t Shine
07 – Kinky Hypocrite
08 – Ever South
09 – What It Means
10 – Once They Banned Imagine
11 – Baggage



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?