Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Armstrong – Ella and Louis (1956/2011) [AcousticSounds DSF DSD64/2.82MHz]

Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Armstrong – Ella and Louis (1956/2011) 
DSF Stereo DSD64/2.82MHz | Time – 54:16 minutes | 2,14 GB | Genre: Jazz
Official Digital Download – Source: AcousticSounds | Front Cover |  © Verve Music / Analogue Productions XVRJ4003D64
Recorded: August 16, 1956, Capitol Studios, Los Angeles

Mastered by George Marino at Sterling Sound from the original analog master tapes to vinyl and PCM. The DSD was sourced from the PCM. George listened to all of the different A/D converters he had before he chose which to use, and he felt the George Massenburg GML 20 bit A/D produced the best and most synergistic sound for the project.

The very fact that America’s biggest jazz label called one of their albums quite simply Ella and Louis indicates that we are talking about something very special here. And surely enough has been said – “Satchmo” and the grande dame of jazz certainly need no further introduction. In the ’50s just the mere mention of their forenames was enough to light up the eyes of jazz fans. A glance at the track list reveals that tranquility rules the day: wild stomps and improvised scats will neither be sought nor missed. Of prime importance to the jazz ballad is a feeling of “letting oneself drift” in the inspiration which gushes forth from the minds of genial American songwriters. This is no contest – for the artists all pursue a common goal with extreme sensitiveness. The background combo, made up of first-class musicians and led by Oscar Peterson, performs with great concentration and almost obtrusive unobtrusiveness. Verve’s highly successful producer Norman Granz decided quite deliberately to make the recording in the studio instead of at a live session. And success has verified his judgment, for such vocal jazz knows only gentle tones – but the result is all the more intensive for that.

Ella and Louis is an inspired collaboration, masterminded by producer Norman Granz. Both artists were riding high at this stage in their careers, and Granz assembled a stellar quartet of Oscar Peterson (piano), Buddy Rich (drums), Herb Ellis (guitar) and Ray Brown (bass). Equally inspired was the choice of material, with the gruffness of Armstrong’s voice blending like magic with Fitzgerald’s stunningly silky delivery. Outstanding are Irving Berlin’s “Cheek to Cheek” and “Isn’t This a Lovely Day,” and everything else works like a dream, with the golden star going to the Gershwin brothers’ “They Can’t Take That Away from Me.” Gentle and sincere, this is deserving of a place in every home. -AllMusic Review by Rovi Staff

1 Can’t We Be Friends? 3:46
2 Isn’t This A Lovely Day? 6:15
3 Moonlight In Vermont 3:40
4 They Can’t Take That Away From Me 4:38
5 Under A Blanket Of Blue 4:16
6 Tenderly 5:06
7 A Foggy Day 4:31
8 Stars Fell On Alabama 3:32
9 Cheek To Cheek 5:52
10 The Nearness Of You 5:40
11 April In Paris 6:33

Louis Armstrong, vocals, trumpet
Ella Fitzgerald, vocals
Ray Brown, bass
Herb Ellis, guitar
Oscar Peterson, piano
Buddy Rich, drums
Buddy Bregman – arranger, conductor



FLAC 24-96