Emerson, Lake & Palmer – Works, Volume 1 (1977/2017) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Emerson, Lake & Palmer – Works, Volume 1 (1977/2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 1:26:57 minutes | 1,65 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Front Cover | © BMG Rights Management (UK) Ltd.

Formed in 1970, Emerson, Lake & Palmer were torchbearers of the progressive rock sound and one of rock’s first super-groups. The world-conquering, stadium-filling prog giants helped to broaden the audience for the genre from hundreds of thousands into tens of millions and were one the most commercially successful rock bands of the 1970s. Their first 7 album releases all made the U.K. albums chart top 10 and U.S. top 20. Works Volume 1 (originally released as ‘Works’) is ELP’s fifth studio album, released as a double LP in 1977, and now expertly remastered for the first time in 24 bit / High Definition formats from the original tapes.

Though no one talked about it at the time of its release, this album reflected a growing split within the group. Originally, the trio’s members, tired of sublimating their musical identities within the context of ELP, each intended to do a solo album of his own. Reason prevailed, however, probably aided by the group’s awareness that the combined sales of the solo albums issued by the five members of Yes the previous year were a fraction of the sales of Yes’ most recent records. The result was this double LP; essentially three solo sides and one group side, it is the most complex and demanding of the group’s albums. Keith Emerson’s “Piano Concerto” is on the level of a good music-student piece, without much original language. Where Emerson, in conjunction with his conductor and co-orchestrator, John Mayer, succeeds admirably is in writing beautiful virtuoso passages for the piano. Greg Lake’s romantic songs mark the final flowering of his work in this vein – and perhaps its going to seed, since “C’est la Vie,” the featured single, says little that “Still…You Turn Me On,” from their previous album, didn’t say better and shorter. Carl Palmer’s side is the most accessible of the three solo sides for casual rock listeners, rocking hard on the classical adaptations and featuring Joe Walsh on lead guitar for one song. The group’s two tracks, “Fanfare for the Common Man” and “Pirates,” cover a lot of old ground, albeit in ornate and stylish fashion. Having used Copland’s “Hoedown” as a concert showstopper for four years, the trio takes “Fanfare” to new heights of indulgence, and it actually works, up to a point – like CCR’s extended version of “Heard It Through the Grapevine,” this is just a little too much of a good thing.

01 – Piano Concerto No. 1 (1st Movement: Allegro Giojoso / 2nd Movement: Andante Molto Cantabile / 3rd Movement: Toccata Con Fuoco)
02 – Lend Your Love to Me Tonight
03 – C’est La Vie
04 – Hallowed Be Thy Name
05 – Nobody Loves You Like I Do
06 – Closer to Believing
07 – The Enemy God Dances with the Black Spirits
08 – L.A. Nights
09 – New Orleans
10 – Two Part Invention in D Minor
11 – Food for Your Soul
12 – Tank
13 – Fanfare for the Common Man
14 – Pirates

Remastered in 2017.



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?