Gary Peacock Trio – Tangents (2017) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Gary Peacock Trio – Tangents (2017) 
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 53:11 minutes | 940 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download  | Booklet, Front Cover | © ECM Records

Whenever he’s not twisting and turning with Jack DeJohnette in Keith Jarrett’s trio (it’s been going on since 1983!), Gary Peacock focuses on his own trio. Along with drummer Joey Baron and bassist Marc Copland, the American double bass player is releasing his second album with a band of impressive calibre. An album recorded in Lugano in May 2016 and produced by Manfred Eicher of ECM. Much like Now This, also released by the label from Munich a year earlier, there is a Himalayan musicality in this album, owing as much to its leader as to his two sidemen – although the term “sidemen” doesn’t apply here – and throughout which none of the protagonists try to draw attention to themselves. Each one contributes to the repertoire (five compositions by Peacock, two by Baron and one by Copland) and the three colleagues reinterpret Miles Davis’ Blue In Greenas well as Alex North’s theme for Stanley Kubrick’s Spartacus, providing a fantastic base for improvisation… Being one of the main figures that helped develop the role of double bass in the 60s, Gary Peacock has always been particularly attached to the melodic fabric of what he plays. And Tangents is only one more proof of this artistic commitment.


1 Contact 06:40
2 December Greenwings 04:50
3 Tempei Tempo 04:11
4 Cauldron 02:30
5 Spartacus 05:10
6 Empty Forest 07:11
7 Blue In Green 04:43
8 Rumblin’ 04:08
9 Talkin’ Blues 04:05
10 In And Out 02:53
11 Tangents 06:50

Gary Peacock, double-bass
Marc Copland, piano
Joey Baron, drums

Produced by Manfred Eicher



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?