Howard Shelley – Beethoven- Complete Concertos for Piano and Orchestra (2011/2021) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Howard Shelley – Beethoven- Complete Concertos for Piano and Orchestra (2011/2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/96kHz | Time – 05:15:53 minutes | 4,71 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Chandos

The piano remained the main instrument of Beethoven throughout his life, and this specially priced 4-CD box set represents his entire and sizeable output for piano and orchestra, starting with the early Piano Concerto in E flat,

WoO 4 – a work of tremendous energy and great technical demands, which Beethoven wrote when he was just twelve years old – and ending with Piano Concerto No. 5, the only one that Beethoven never performed himself in concert, due to his developing deafness.

Howard Shelley was awarded an OBE for services to classical music at the 2009 New Year Honours. He here conducts the Orchestra and Chorus of Opera North from the piano. Shelley has recorded extensively for Chandos over the years, and he has combined the role of solo pianist and conductor on numerous occasions, most recently with the Orchestra of Opera North in Piano Concertos by Schumann, Saint-Saëns, and Grieg (CHAN 10509), but also with the London Mozart Players, recording works by Cramer, Hummel, Mendelssohn, and Mozart. All his recordings have received superb reviews.

Beethoven wrote the Triple Concerto on this disc in 1803 during a lull in the composition of his opera Fidelio. Works for violin, cello and piano were fairly common at the time – but combining them with orchestra was, as Beethoven himself observed, something entirely new, and no other concerto of this kind from this period is known today.

In this work, Howard Shelley is joined by the violinist and exclusive Chandos artist Tasmin Little, who won the Critics’ Choice Award at this year’s Classic BRITS, and by the cellist Tim Hugh, of whom The Times said: ‘Mr Hugh is much more than just a Cellist, he is a musician with a compelling insight into the creative urge behind the notes.’

1. Howard Shelley – I. Allegro con brio
2. Howard Shelley – II. Largo
3. Howard Shelley – III. Rondo. Allegro
4. Howard Shelley – I. Allegro moderato
5. Howard Shelley – II. Andante con moto
6. Howard Shelley – III. Rondo. Vivace – Presto
7. Howard Shelley – Rondo for Piano & Orchestra in B-Flat Major, WoO 6
8. Howard Shelley – I. Allegro con brio
9. Howard Shelley – II. Adagio
10. Howard Shelley – III. Rondo. Molto allegro
11. Howard Shelley – I. Allegro
12. Howard Shelley – II. Adagio un poco mosso
13. Howard Shelley – III. Rondo. Allegro
14. Howard Shelley – Beethoven and Mozart: An Obsession?
15. Howard Shelley – I. Allegro con brio
16. Howard Shelley – II. Largo
17. Howard Shelley – III. Rondo. Allegro – Presto
18. Howard Shelley – I. Allegro, ma non troppo
19. Howard Shelley – II. Larghetto
20. Howard Shelley – III. Rondo. (Allegro)
21. Howard Shelley – Fantasia in C Minor, Op. 80
22. Howard Shelley – I. Allegro moderato
23. Howard Shelley – II. Larghetto
24. Howard Shelley – III. Rondo. (Allegro ma non troppo)
25. Howard Shelley – I. Allegro – Più allegro
26. Howard Shelley – II. Largo
27. Howard Shelley – III. Rondo alla polacca – Allegro



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?