Howard Shelley, Ulster Orchestra – Dussek: Piano Concertos (2014) [Hyperion FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Jan Ladislav Dussek – Piano Concertos – Howard Shelley, Ulster Orchestra (2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:08:19 minutes | 1,15 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: | Booklet, Front Cover | © Hyperion Records
Recorded: September 2013, Ulster Hall, Belfast, United Kingdom

Following on from Hyperion’s hugely popular ‘Romantic Piano Concerto’ series, the ‘Classical Piano Concerto’ focuses on the lesser-known concertos from the dawn of the genre. Between about 1770 and 1820—the high classical period dominated by Mozart, Haydn and Beethoven—musicians including Clementi, Cramer, Dussek, Steibelt, Woelfl and others made their names as composers and performers of piano concertos. This series aims to be the first in-depth recorded survey of this forgotten repertoire.
This first volume features three of Bohemian virtuoso Jan Ladislav Dussek’s eighteen piano concertos, taken from different points in his career. As a group, these pieces are a fascinating study, with most of the earlier works largely reflecting the Mozartian model, and the later ones revealing stylistic traits sometimes at odds with the late eighteenth-century conception of the form, and anticipating future developments in the genre.
There could be no finer guide to the hidden gems of this repertoire than Howard Shelley, whose recordings of Clementi keyboard works, and Mozart and Hummel piano concertos, have received such acclaim. He appears here as pianist / conductor with the Ulster Orchestra.

Having explored the byways of the Romantic piano concerto repertoire for Hyperion, the indefatigable Howard Shelley is now turning his attention to neglected examples of the genre from the Classical period. The three concertos by Dussek recorded here span a period of nearly 30 years, and while the early G major, Op 1 No 3, has its attractive moments, the two later works have more to offer. The Concerto in C, Op 29, very unusually begins with a slow introduction whose theme reappears, rhythmically altered, at two points in the following Allegro. Even more ambitious is the E flat Concerto Op 70 of 1810, which includes clarinets and a trombone.
Shelley plays all these pieces as stylishly as ever, and he is ably accompanied by the Ulster Orchestra. These pieces are a real find, and the disc augurs well for the series. -Misha Donat, BBC Music Magazine

Jan Ladislav Dussek (1760-1812)
Piano Concerto in G major Op 1 No 3
1 Allegro[9’14]
2 Rondo: Allegro[5’05]
Piano Concerto in C major Op 29
3 Larghetto – Allegro maestoso[12’02]
4 Larghetto sostenuto[4’57]
5 Rondo[6’30]
Piano Concerto in E flat major Op 70
6 Allegro brillante ma non troppo[15’01]
7 Adagio ma non troppo lento[6’39]
8 Rondo: Allegretto moderatissimo[8’51]

Ulster Orchestra
Howard Shelley, piano, conductor



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?