Lawson Rollins – Espirito (2010) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz]

Lawson Rollins – Espirito (2010)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 1:06:23 minutes | 1,38 GB | Genre: Jazz, World
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Digital Booklet | © Infinita Records

Espirito is a suite that extends and expands the vision of Lawson Rollins’ critically-acclaimed debut solo release Infinita with thirteen compositions that delve deep into the roots of world music. Espirito’s wide-ranging musical palette spans continents and cultures without losing its bedrock groove or playful sense of adventure.

Rollins reunites with Persian-American musician and producer Shahin Shahida (of Shahin & Sepehr) and multi-platinum producer Dominic Camardella (Flora Purim, 3rd Force, Ottmar Liebert) to craft an epic World Music odyssey that reaches across cultures and musical traditions. The cast includes iconic Brazilian singer Flora Purim, legendary percussionist Airto Moreira, Iranian kamancheh master Kayhan Kalhor, and Grammy winners Charlie Bisharat on violin as well as Cuban drummer Horacio “El Negro” Hernandez.

On his splendidly exotic, infectiously melodic, and grooving second recording since his days as part of the popular flamenco duo Young & Rollins, the charming and charismatic guitarist goes on another inviting journey full of all the exciting rhythmic possibilities the world offers – high energy and supercharged at times, balanced nicely by sensual flows here and there. He’s holding his trademark acoustic guitar on the CD cover, but mixes up that vibe with sharp, Santana-like electric edges on tracks like the searing midtempo ballad “Blue Mountain Bolero,” which also features Charlie Bisharat’s gleefully dancing violin. The goal (easily achieved) seems to be a literal travelogue, as Rollins fully captures the stunning exotica and indigenous vibes of styles and locales captured by track titles like “Return to Rio” (a graceful, low-key samba rendered even more authentic by the presence of Airto Moreira and Flora Purim), “Havana Heat” (simmering with the guitar duality provided by project producer Shahin Shahida on electric and slide guitar), “Santa Lucia Waltz” (dance-romance, anyone?), and “Cape Town Sky.” This extraordinary musical trip wraps with a dramatic set called “The Caravan Trilogy,” which features a contemplative “Migration” followed by a meditational, easy-rolling side trip to “Shadowland” and trippy, rock-edged emergence “Into the Light.” It seems almost superfluous to say, but this nonstop engaging festival on disc is overloaded with the glorious spirit its title refers to.

01 – Rumba Del Sol
02 – Moonlight Samba
03 – Havana Heat
04 – Cafe La Martinique
05 – Return to Rio
06 – Blue Mountain Bolero
07 – Santa Lucia Waltz
08 – Espirito
09 – Cape Town Sky
10 – Footprints
11 – Migration
12 – Shadowland
13 – Into the Light

Recorded at Skywalker Sound Studio in Marin County, CA & at Santa Barbara Sound Design in Santa Barbara, CA.

Lawson Rollins – guitar
Flora Purim – vocals
Airto Moreira – percussion
Kayhan Kalhor – kamancheh
Charlie Bisharat – violin
Horacio “El Negro” Hernandez – drums



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?