Liverpool Five – Out of Sight (1967/2017) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Liverpool Five – Out of Sight (1967/2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 31:39 minutes | 727 MB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © RCA Victor – Legacy

Because the Liverpool Five were a British band based in America and never had any hits, many listeners expecting that they made cheap exploitation records are surprised to hear a fairly credible group whose members wrote some of their own material. Still, that enthusiasm should be tempered by the realistic observation that they were just an OK band, not a great one, and not a real original one (though not a wholly imitative one either). They play and sing consistently well on Out of Sight; the problem is the material, which is erratic in both quality and style. The three covers of British Invasion classics (the Troggs’ “Anyway That You Want Me,” the Who’s “My Generation,” and Them’s “I Can Only Give You Everything”) aren’t bad — live, they probably knocked out American kids who hadn’t heard the originals, which weren’t all that well known in the States — but nor are they in the same league as those originals. The other tracks include some cuts (“Gotta Get a Move On,” “Do You Believe,” “Get Away”) that both recall and stand up well to the snarling sides done by the likes of the Standells and the Chocolate Watchband, though with more of a soul influence (particularly in the vocals). There are also some forgettable songs that opt for a more lightweight mood, though the driving “Piccadilly Line” — where the Liverpool Five sound their most British, in part owing to some fine bluesy organ and a coolly cocky lead vocal — is a standout. So there’s about half a decent, though not remarkable, LP here, and while the rest isn’t lousy, it does drag the record down. ~ Richie Unterberger

1. Any Way That You Want Me 02:37
2. My Generation 02:58
3. Picadilly Line 02:49
4. I Can Only Give You Everything 02:40
5. Baby, Out of Sight 02:14
6. Gotta Get a Move On 02:32
7. She’s (Got Plenty of Love) 02:36
8. Do You Believe 03:20
9. The Snake 02:40
10. I’m Your Hoochie Coochie Man 05:08
11. Get Away 02:05

Steve Laine, vocals
Ken Cox, guitar, vocals
Ron Henley, keyboards, vocals
Dave Burgess, bass, vocals
Jimmy May, drums, vocals

Recorded 1967 at RCA Victor Studios, Hollywood
Engineered by Dave Hassinger
Produced by Al Schmitt

Digitally remastered



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?