London Symphony Orchestra, Valery Gergiev – Szymanowski: Symphonies Nos. 3 & 4, Stabat Mater (2013/2018) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

London Symphony Orchestra, Valery Gergiev – Szymanowski: Symphonies Nos. 3 & 4, Stabat Mater (2013/2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:09:54 minutes | 1,18 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © LSO Live

This second, star-studded instalment of Gergiev’s Szymanowski cycle features Toby Spence as soloist in the Third Symphony, ‘Song of the Night’ and internationally renowned pianist, Denis Matsuev in the virtuosic ‘Symphonie concertante’, Symphony No 4. Szymanowski’s deeply personal choral work, ‘Stabat Mater’, completes the cycle and stars Sally Matthews and Ekaterina Gubanova, and introduces the young baritone, Kostas Smoriginas to LSO Live listeners.

For decades Szymanowski’s music was rarely heard outside Poland. Today, he is recognised as one of Poland’s greatest musical figures. His desire to embody the music of his native land and his incorporation of the folkloric sounds of the Polish mountains make his orchestral works a must for anyone with an interest in Polish culture and music.

Szymanowski’s Third Symphony is a musical setting of a 13th-century poem written during his second, Franco-Arabic period and combines the influences of Wagner, Chopin and Scriabin. The ‘Stabat Mater’ is derived from poet Józef Jankowski’s translation of the medieval poem about the grieving mother of Christ. Symphony No 4, one of Szymanowski’s last compositions, was dedicated to Arthur Rubinstein and is a piano concerto in all but name.

In September Valery Gergiev will travel to Rotterdam for the Rotterdam Phiharmonic Gergiev Festival, before opening The Met season with ‘Eugene Onegin’. In October Gergiev will commence his Berlioz cycle with the LSO, with performances in the UK, Germany, France and Austria.

“Matsuev has his feet…firmly planted on terra firma, the edgier writing displaying more of a kinship with Bartok until the gorgeous return to lushness in the second movement suggests an almost Ravelian sensibility. Certainly Matsuev and Gergiev go all out to turn the finale into Szymanowski’s danse generale.” (Gramophone Magazine)
“The [Stabat Mater] is beautiful and Gergiev has the full measure of its 23 gorgeous minutes.” (MusicWeb International)

1. Symphony No. 3 in B-Flat Major, Op. 27 “Song of the Night”: I. Moderato assai 07:54
2. Symphony No. 3 in B-Flat Major, Op. 27 “Song of the Night”: II. Allegretto tranquillo 06:29
3. Symphony No. 3 in B-Flat Major, Op. 27 “Song of the Night”: III. Largo 09:03
4. Stabat Mater, Op. 53: I. Stabat mater dolorosa 07:13
5. Stabat Mater, Op. 53: II. Quis est homo qui non fleret 02:09
6. Stabat Mater, Op. 53: III. O, Eia, Mater, fons amoris 04:01
7. Stabat Mater, Op. 53: IV. Fac me tecum pie flere 02:44
8. Stabat Mater, Op. 53: V. Virgo virginum praeclara 02:48
9. Stabat Mater, Op. 53: VI. Christe, cum sit hinc exire 04:31
10. Symphony No. 4, Op. 60 “Symphonie Concertante”: I. Moderato – Tempo comodo 09:25
11. Symphony No. 4, Op. 60 “Symphonie Concertante”: II. Andante molto sostenuto 07:32
12. Symphony No. 4, Op. 60 “Symphonie Concertante”: III. Allegro non troppo, ma agitato ed ansioso 06:05

Toby Spence, tenor
Denis Matsuev, piano
Sally Matthews, soprano
Ekaterina Gubanova, mezzo-soprano
Kostas Smoriginas, baritone
London Symphony Chorus
London Symphony Orchestra
Valery Gergiev, conductor
Simon Halsey, conductor



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?