Matthias Goerne, Freiburger Barockorchester & Gottfried von der Goltz – Bach: Cantatas for Bass (2017) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Matthias Goerne, Freiburger Barockorchester & Gottfried von der Goltz – Bach: Cantatas for Bass (2017) 
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 56:41 minutes | 0,98 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Booklet, Front Cover | © harmonia mundi

Here’s a repertoire that everybody knows about yet is completely neglected: the Bach cantatas. Granted a few have gained some importance, mostly thanks to the vocal qualities of singers who have seized it for a few decades – Fischer-Dieskau and Elly Ameling to name a few – while some complete works adorn aficionados’ collections. There is however enough content in these cantatas to “make up” about a dozen Passions or Oratorios on par with some of those we already know. Bach himself didn’t refrain from drawing from them to recycle arias, ensembles, choirs and sinfonias. Among some of the most famous, honoured in the 1950s by Fischer-Dieskau, are two cantatas for baritone: Ich will den Kreuzstab gerne tragen (1726) and Ich habe genug(1727), both written with oboe and string accompaniment. It’s precisely with this roster in mind that the Freiburger Barockorchester serves Matthias Goerne, a disciple of Elisabeth Schwarzkopf and… Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, him again! The German baritone, a regular on the world’s most prestigious scenes, doesn’t refrain from lending his immense voice to this almost-chamber music by giving it a character far removed from the lyrical style required by Berg, Wagner or Strauss. In addition, still with the oboe in mind, the recording includes the Concerto in A Major for Oboe d’amore BWV1055R, a modern reconstruction from a keyboard concerto in A major, which there is every reason to believe was itself recycled by Bach from an older concerto for oboe d’amore. The remarkable Katharina Arfken plays the oboe for the cantatas and the oboe d’amore for the concerto.


Johann Sebastian Bach (1685 – 1750)

Ich hatte viel Bekümmernis, BWV 21
1 I. Sinfonia 03:05

Ich will den Kreuzstab gerne tragen, BWV 56
2 I. Aria. Ich will den Kreuzstab gerne tragen 07:24
3 II. Recitativo. Mein Wandel auf der Welt 01:43
4 III. Aria. Endlich, endlich will mein Joch 06:29
5 IV. Recitativo & Aria. Ich stehe fertig 01:32
6 V. Choral. Komm, o Tod, du Schlafes Bruder 01:20

Oboe d’amore Concerto in A major, BWV 1055R
7 I. Allegro 04:22
8 II. Larghetto 05:19
9 III. Allegro ma non tanto 04:26

Ich habe genug, BWV 82
10 I. Aria. Ich habe genug 07:15
11 II. Recitativo. Ich habe genug! 01:09
12 III. Aria. Schlummert ein, ihr matten Augen 08:23
13 IV. Recitativo. Mein Gott! wenn kömmt das schöne: Nun! 00:45
14 V. Aria. Ich freue mich auf meinen Tod 03:20

Matthias Goerne, baritone
Katharina Arfken, oboe, oboe d’amore
Freiburger Barockorchester
Gottfried von der Goltz, violin, conductor



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?