Monica – Code Red (2015) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

Monica – Code Red (2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz | Time – 00:52:30 minutes | 650 MB | Genre: R&B
Studio Master, Official Digital Download  | Source: Qobuz | © RCA Records

Code Red is the eighth studio album by American R&B recording artist Monica. It was released on December 18, 2015, by RCA Records and coincided with the twentieth release anniversary of her debut album Miss Thang (1995).For the project, Monica reteamed with her cousin Polow da Don, who had co-executive produced her previous album New Life (2012). The pair enlisted a variation of producers and songwriters to work with her, including Timbaland, Fatboi, Philip “HardWork” Constable, Pop & Oak, and Danja; in addition to her longtime collaborators Missy Elliott, Crystal Nicole, Akon and Johntá Austin.

Upon its release, Code Red received generally mixed reviews from most music critics. The album debuted at number 27 on the US Billboard 200 chart, selling 35,656 copies copies in its first week, the singer’s lowest-selling debut-week sales.

Rather than celebrate the 20th anniversary of her breakthrough single, Monica declares a Code Red order on the commercial airwaves that have squeezed out soul-rooted R&B. The first song on her seventh U.S. album is the title track, a scuttling assault produced by Polow and assisted by Missy Elliott, which involves the protest “Turn off the radio, damn right/We don’t hear real shit no mo’.” After that song fades, the next voice heard is that of Lil Wayne, whose most recent radio triumphs as a featured artist include “Truffle Butter.” One can’t be faulted for being confused by Monica’s perspective. Later, she returns to the theme with “I Miss Music,” a wistful ballad somewhere between mid-’90s adult alternative singer/songwriter material and Babyface’s contemporaneous hits. Monica begins by listing departed legends, then mixes it up by citing some living and very active artists, including Babyface. It’s odd. Not only does she long for the type of music that continues to be created in abundance, and with easy access, but a fair portion of it has come from her RCA label mates — D’Angelo, Elle Varner, Miguel, and past songwriting collaborator Jazmine Sullivan among them. Subtract the mixed and muddled messages (another song features Akon, maker of “Smack That”), and Code Red is satisfactory. It’s another Monica album that, at its best, draws from the past while remaining in the present, as heard in the luminous ballad “Deep,” the Teena Marie-referencing electro/freestyle hybrid “Suga,” and the pop-soul belter “Alone in Your Heart.” Most of the collaborations with Polow, Danja, Pop & Oak, Philip Constable, and Fatboi handily surpass the three that involve Timbaland. What truly distinguishes Code Red from the rest of Monica’s albums is that the singer is credited as co-writer of every track, not one, two, or three of them. Unsurprisingly, she sounds completely connected to every song. -AllMusic Review by Andy Kellman

1 Code Red 4:24
2 Just Right For Me 3:20
3 Love Just Ain’t Enough 3:22
4 Call My Name 4:13
5 I Know 3:18
6 All Men Lie 2:32
7 Deep 3:54
8 Hustler’s Ambition 4:18
9 Alone In Your Heart 3:35
10 Suga 3:21
11 Ocean Of Tears 3:56
12 Saints & Sinners 4:03
13 I Miss Music 3:13
14 Anchor 5:01

Monica – Vocals
Akon – Featured Artist
Siraaj “Encore” Aziz – Horn
Roark Bailey – Guitar (Acoustic)
Andre Brissett – Bass
Philip “Hardwork” Constable – Guitar (Bass), Keyboards
Scott Effman – Guitar (Acoustic)
Missy Elliott – Featured Artist
Daniel Groover – Guitar (Acoustic), Guitar (Electric)
Jerome Harmon – Guitar (Bass)
Laiyah – Featured Artist
Justin Lay – Keyboards
Lil Wayne – Featured Artist
Dan Marshall – Guitar
Jason “JP” Perry – Keyboards
Kevin Scott – Bass
Jonathan Solone-Myvett – Programming
Prentice Spry – Piano
Timbaland – Featured Artist



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?