Nick Hakim – Green Twins (2017) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Nick Hakim – Green Twins (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 46:21 minutes | 478 MB | Genre: Alternative
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © ATO Records

First of all, that voice. Anything but refined, Nick Hakim’s singing is cloaked in a kind of otherness. A distant song, as if from another galaxy: the American who grew up in Washington before casting anchor in Brooklyn unfurls around her a diaphanous soul. And it certainly is soul that lies at the heart of her magnificent first album Green Twins. It is as if Nick Hakim had resuscitated Marvin Gaye and Curtis Mayfield, but taking care to make them over a little, with a dash of folk here, or a blush of pop there. Through the melody there runs here an unexpected rhythm or there a surprising instrument: her musical imagination is vast enough to take in South American music she heard at home (her mother is Chilean and her father is Peruvian), or hip-hop from her teenage years… On Roller Skates, a deliberately rickety drum-machine backs up a piercing guitar, itself sickly-sounding, while Nicky Hakim’s voice, in a halo of reverb, transforms the song into a waking dream. Every melody on Green Twins is bathed in a softness (never blandness) that reinforces the music’s dreamlike quality. Because even if Hakim’s voice could thrill fans of Curtis Harding, Cody Chesnutt, Roland Gift and Bilal, the music here is all very much her own, so much so that one wonders if she has in fact invented the gospel music of the third millennium. To be sure, this is the most spellbinding Qobuzissime of the year.

01 – Green Twins
02 – Bet She Looks Like You
03 – Roller Skates
04 – Needy Bees
05 – TYAF
06 – Cuffed
07 – Miss Chew (feat. Jesse & Forever)
08 – Farmissplease
09 – Those Days (feat. Onyx Collective)
10 – Slowly
11 – The Want
12 – JP



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?