Onyx Brass & John Wilson – Festmusik – A Legacy (2021) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Onyx Brass & John Wilson – Festmusik – A Legacy (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:07:17 minutes | 1,01 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Chandos

Described as “easily the classiest brass ensemble in Britain” by BBC Music Magazine, Onyx Brass continues to be the leading light in establishing the brass quintet as a medium for serious chamber music, presenting it in the entertaining and articulate style that has become the group’s trademark.

For this, its third recording for Chandos, Onyx Brass presents a programme steeped in the German romantic tradition. Arrangements for small ensemble of works by Schumann, Brahms, Mendelssohn, Rubinstein, and Franz demonstrate the musicality and virtuosity of the group, as well as a wide expressive and textural range. The programme opens and closes with three large-scale works by Richard Strauss, in which the Quintet is joined by a host of brass players and the conductor John Wilson. Festmusik der Stadt Wien for brass and timpani, written for the city of Vienna, is the only original composition: all the others are arrangements made by members of the group. This is an exciting album for brass music enthusiasts and fans of chamber music alike.


1. Onyx Brass – Festmusik der Stadt Wien, TrV 286
2. Onyx Brass – No. 1, Un poco adagio
3. Onyx Brass – No. 2, —
4. Onyx Brass – No. 3, Espressivo
5. Onyx Brass – No. 4, —
6. Onyx Brass – No. 5, —
7. Onyx Brass – No. 6, —
8. Onyx Brass – No. 7, Presto
9. Onyx Brass – No. 8, —
10. Onyx Brass – No. 9, —
11. Onyx Brass – No. 10, —
12. Onyx Brass – No. 11, Allegro con brio
13. Onyx Brass – No. 12, Vivace
14. Onyx Brass – No. 1, Ich schwing’ mein Horn ins Jammertal (Arr. D. Gordon-Shute for Brass Ensemble)
15. Onyx Brass – Die Frauen und die Sänger, MWV F 32 (Arr. D. Gordon-Shute for Brass Ensemble)
16. Onyx Brass – No. 1 in A-Flat Major, Nocturne (Arr. D. Gordon-Shute for Brass Ensemble)
17. Onyx Brass – No. 6, Frühlingsblick (Arr. N. Keatley for Brass Ensemble)
18. Onyx Brass – No. 1, Der Abend
19. Onyx Brass – No. 2, Hymne



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?