Roberta Flack – Quiet Fire (1971/2015) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Roberta Flack – Quiet Fire (1971/2015) 
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz  | Time – 42:21 minutes | 1,36 GB | Genre: Pop
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Booklet, Front Cover | © Rhino Atlantic

Quiet Fire is the third studio album by American singer-songwriter Roberta Flack, released in November 1971 by Atlantic Records. It was recorded at Atlantic Recording Studios, Regent Studios, and The Hit Factory in New York City. The album peaked at number 18 on the Billboard Top LPs & Tape, and its single “Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow” charted at number 76 on the Hot 100.

Quiet Fire proves to be an apt title, as Flack’s MOR-informed jazz and gospel vocals simmer just below the surface on the eight sides here. Forgoing the full-throttled delivery of, say, Aretha Franklin, Flack translates the pathos of gospel expression into measured intensity and sighing, elongated phrases. There’s even a bit of Carole King’s ashen tone in Flack’s voice, as manifested on songs like “Let Them Talk,” Van McCoy’s “Sweet Bitter Love,” and a meditative reworking of King’s “Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow.” The album’s other high-profile cover, “Bridge Over Troubled Waters,” features the ideal setting for Flack’s airy pipes with a tasteful backdrop of strings and a chorus featuring soul songstress Cissy Houston (Whitney’s mom). Switching from this hushed sanctity, Flack digs into some groove-heavy southern soul on “Go Up Moses,” “Sunday and Sister Jones,” and an amazing version of the Bee Gees hit “To Love Somebody” (this perennial number has been done by everyone from Rita Marley to Hank Williams, Jr.). Flack finally completes the modern triumvirate of southern music, adding the country tones of Jimmy Webb’s “See You Then” to the Quiet Fire’s stock of gospel and soul. And thanks to top players like guitarist Hugh McCracken, organist Richard Tee, bassist Chuck Rainey, and drummer Bernard Purdie, the varied mix all comes off sounding seamless. One of Flack’s best.

01 – Go Up Moses
02 – Bridge Over Troubled Water
03 – Sunday and Sister Jones
04 – See You Then
05 – Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow (Single/LP Version)
06 – To Love Somebody
07 – Let Them Talk
08 – Sweet Bitter Love

Produced by Joel Dorn. Engineered by Lewis Hahn & Bruce Tergesen.
Recorded at Atlantic Recording Studios, Regent Studios, The Hit Factory, NYC.

Joshie Armstead – background vocals
Jim Bailey – background vocals
Seymour Barab – cello
David Carey – vibraphone
Ron Carter – bass
The Newark Boys Chorus – background vocals
Joel Dorn – background vocals
Joe Farrell – flute, alto sax, tenor sax
Roberta Flack – piano, vocals
Corky Hale – harp
Hilda Harris – background vocals
Cissy Houston – background vocals
Ted Hoyle – cello
Wally Kane – bassoon
Hubert Laws – flute
Buddy Lucas – harmonica
Ralph MacDonald – percussion, conga
Arif Mardin – background vocals, string arrangements, flute arrangement
Les McCann – background vocals
Hugh McCracken – guitar
Gene McDaniels – background vocals
Kermit Moore – cello
Romeo Penque – flute, soprano sax
Terry Plumeri – double bass
Seldon Powell – tenor sax
Bernard “Pretty” Purdie – drums
Chuck Rainey – bass, electric bass
George Ricci – cello
Billy Slapin – flute
Grady Tate – percussion, drums
Richard Tee – organ
Tasha Thomas – background vocals
Sammy Turner – background vocals

Rod Bristow – photography
Deodato – horn arrangements, string arrangements
Joel Dorn – producer
Bill Eaton – horn Arrangements, string Arrangements
Ira Friedlander – cover design
Lewis Hahn – engineer
Bruce Tergesen – engineer



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?