Squeeze – Argybargy (1980/2021) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Squeeze – Argybargy (1980/2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 36:07 minutes | 750 MB | Genre: Pop, New Wave
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © A&M

Argybargy is the third album by British pop/new wave band Squeeze. Argybargy was released in February 1980 peaking at 32 in the UK Albums Chart spending 15 weeks in that listing. It would be the last album featuring founding member Jools Holland until Squeezes first reunion album 1985s Cosi Fan Tutti Frutti. Squeeze came to prominence in the United Kingdom during the new wave period of the late 1970s and continued recording successfully in the 1980s and 1990s. Though not as commercially successful in the United States Squeeze had American chart hits and have a dedicated following there and continue to attract new fans. All of Squeezes hits were written by band members Chris Difford and Glenn Tilbrook with the former penning the lyrics and the latter handling the composition. The duo were hailed as the heirs to Lennon and McCartneys throne during their peak of popularity in the early 1980s.

“If any one album were responsible for sowing the seeds of Chris Difford and Glenn Tilbrook’s reputation as the new Lennon and McCartney, it’s Argybargy, Squeeze’s third album and undisputed breakthrough. Squeeze made a great leap forward between their awkward debut and its great sequel, Cool for Cats, but that distance is small compared to the gap between Cool for Cats and Argybargy. Cool for Cats was the work of a rock & roll band – one that lathered on the keyboards and herky-jerky rhythms, but these were kind of variations on one sound (if not quite one theme). Argybargy doesn’t stay in one place; it’s restless and crackling with colors, bursting into life with “Pulling Mussels (From the Shell),” a vivid portrait of a seaside vacation where Difford’s vignettes are made all the more vivid by Tilbrook’s bright, invigorating pop. As the band’s chief melodicist, it’s easy to place much of the weight of Squeeze’s progression on either Tilbrook or perhaps the band as a whole, as one of the lingering impressions of Argybargy is its brilliant sparkle, how the pop gleams yet is muscular, yet Difford’s storytelling and character sketches are improving at a rapid rate, too. This is not foreign territory for Difford – the previous album’s “Up the Junction” was a remarkable story in miniature and it finds a near explicit single in this album’s “Vicky Verky” – but he’s honing his wit and sharpening his observations, heard clearly on the clutch of singles that drive the album: the aforementioned “Pulling Mussels (From the Shell),” the nervy breakup tune “Another Nail for My Heart,” and the wonderfully wry “If I Didn’t Love You,” where Difford anticipates Nick Hornby’s High Fidelity with his summation “Singles remind me of kisses/Albums remind me of plans.” Singles may give Argybargy momentum but this isn’t just surface; the group stretches into some spacy territory on “I Think I’m Go Go,” “Misadventure” bristles with pent-up excitement, “There at the Top” bounces to a Motown beat, and “Separate Beds” is one of Difford and Tilbrook’s best tunes, capturing the awkwardness of staying at a girlfriend’s parents’ house for the first time. Not the typical subject for a pop song and the best indication of how Squeeze were deepening. They had not yet left their rock & roll roots behind – they can kick out agreeable throwaways like “Farfisa Beat” without missing a step, and they give Jools Holland some time to play the boogie-woogie on “Wrong Side of the Moon” – but with Argybargy it was clear that Squeeze were at the top of the pack among new wave popsters, and that their sardonic yet lively voice was unique among any pop group before or since.” (Stephen Thomas Erlewine, AMG)


1. Squeeze – Pulling Mussels (From The Shell)
2. Squeeze – Another Nail In My Heart
3. Squeeze – Separate Beds
4. Squeeze – Misadventure
5. Squeeze – I Think I’m Go Go
6. Squeeze – If I Didn’t Love You
7. Squeeze – Farfisa Beat
8. Squeeze – Here Comes That Feeling
9. Squeeze – Vicky Verky
10. Squeeze – Wrong Side Of The Moon
11. Squeeze – There At The Top



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?