The Modern Jazz Quartet – Live At The Lighthouse (1967/2011) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

The Modern Jazz Quartet – Live At The Lighthouse (1967/2011)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 38:04 minutes | 1,52 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Artwork: Front cover | © Rhino Atlantic

Live at the Lighthouse is an emotionally-charged live set featuring bold improvisations and new material from the historic quartet. The album bursts with vibraphonic innovations, rousing piano runs and bluesy moods. The seasoned players perform deeply moving renditions of “The Shadow Of Your Smile” and “What’s New.” Wonderfully spaced and perfectly timed, it is impossible not to be intrigued by this remarkable album.

This fairly obscure LP by the Modern Jazz Quartet features fresh material and improvisations that are both swinging and creative. Pianist John Lewis’ “The Spiritual” and “Baseball,” along with vibraphonist Milt Jackson’s “Novamo” and “For Someone I Love,” comprise half the program, and it is Jackson’s influence that seems to be the weightier one here. Jackson and the MJQ always rose to the challenge of a crowd. There are also excellent ballad renditions of “The Shadow of Your Smile” and “What’s New.” The bluesier side of the band is what’s mostly on display here, and the MJQ plays up to its usual level. None of the classic group’s recordings should be passed by.

01 – The Spiritual
02 – Baseball
03 – The Shadow Of Your Smile
04 – Intima
05 – Novamo
06 – For Someone I Love
07 – What’s New?

Milt Jackson – vibraphone
John Lewis – piano
Percy Heath – bass
Connie Kay – drums



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?