Valery Gergiev, Mariinsky Orchestra & Chorus – Shchedrin: The Left-Hander (2015) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Valery Gergiev, Mariinsky Orchestra & Chorus – Shchedrin: The Left-Hander (2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:59:12 minutes | 2,45 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Digital Booklet | © Mariinsky

Specially written for Gergiev on the occasion of his 60th birthday, Rodion Shchedrin s ‘The Left-Hande’r is a comedy of Russians and Englishmen, new technology, old traditions and strong drink. The premiere was given by the Mariinsky Opera in St Petersburg in July 2013. Rodion Shchedrin is one of music s greatest living humourists and his work is laced with pitch-black irony and deadpan wit. Based on Nikolai Leskov s classical satirical novella of 1881, ‘The Tale of Cross-Eyed Lefty From Tula and the Steel Flea’, The Left-Hander is a gloriously wry exploration of Russia s relationship with the West in general and England in particular. The work recently received its UK premiere and was met with great acclaim. ‘The Left-Hander is a real comic opera of beguiling charm and fizzing vivacity, sharing its absurd grotesquerie with Shostakovich s The Nose, its tingling enchantment with Ravel s L enfant et les sortilèges and its wild mania with Barry s The Importance of Being Earnest. What grounds it, though, is an overwhelming, Russian nostalgia, an umbilical cord linking back to Mussorgsky.’ ‘Gergiev conducted Shchedrin s 2013 score with understated intensity and musical humility, transporting us to the haunting world of Nikolai Leskov s original novella. Shchedrin s scoring is characteristically inventive and colourful… the forging music is witty and humorous.’ The Telegraph **** ‘Unexpectedly moving and stunningly well sung.’ The Financial Times ****

BBC RADIO 3 CD REVIEW DISC OF THE WEEK ‘It fizzes with energy … I enjoyed this hugely’ -Andrew McGregor BBC Radio 3 CD Review, 11th April 2015

‘Valery Gergiev conducts a sharp performance, one fully alert to the satires that enmesh the work.’ -John Warrack Gramophone, June 2015

Performance: **** Recording: **** ‘Leading the characteristically strong Mariinsky forces, Kristina Alieva entertains with her coloratura as the ornamental insect, and in the title role the lyric tenor Andrei Popov gives a touching performance of a character forced out of his comfort zone.’ -John Allison BBC Music Magazine, July 2015

1 Act One I. The Winter Palace 03:24
2 Act One II. Ataman Platov’s Story 02:55
3 Act One III. Inspection of the Armoury (Terzetto 05:46
4 Act One IV. The River Tulitsa (dissolve) 03:05
5 Act One V. Buckingham Parlace. Orchestral Interlude I 00:58
6 Act One VI. The Royal Presentation 04:00
7 Act One VII. Seven Turns of the Key. Orchestral Interlude II 00:41
8 Act One VIII. The Flea 02:07
9 Act One IX. Arioso of Alexander I and Scena 04:33
10 Act One X. Again in the Winter Palace (during the reign of Tsar Nicholas I) 03:00
11 Act One XI. A village in Tula and the Left-Hander’s Rude Songs 03:20
12 Act One XII. Ataman Platov Arrives in Tula 04:43
13 Act One XIII. The Russians Refashion in the English Flea (Choral Interlude) 03:47
14 Act One XIV. Ataman Platov returns to Tula 03:56
15 Act One XV. The Journey from Tula to St Petersburg Orchestral Interlude III 01:42
16 Act One XVI. Ataman Platov and the Left-Hander Arrive at the Winter Palace 03:43
17 Act One XVII. The Microscope is brought in. Orchestral Interlude IV 00:48
18 Act One XVIII. The English Flea subjected to Russian Modification 02:12
19 Act One XIX. Finale 04:33

1 Act Two I. The Left-Hander and the Flea at Buckingham Palace 01:07
2 Act Two II. The Russified Flea 02:12
3 Act Two III. Delighted English Question the Left-Hander 07:15
4 Act Two IV. The English Brides (Love Canzonets) 04:02
5 Act Two V. Attempts at Persuasion (Recitative and Ensemble) 04:05
6 Act Two VI. Know How. Orchestral Interlude V 01:47
7 Act Two VII. How to Clean your Musket 03:14
8 Act Two VIII. A Vision of Russia 03:10
9 Act Two IX. The Left-Hander Sets Sail for Russia 07:35
10 Act Two X. The Storm. Orchestral Interlude VI 02:17
11 Act Two XI. Return to St Petersburg 04:01
12 Act Two XII. Final Scenes (Ordeal in the Infirmaries) 09:30
13 Act Two XIII. Epilogue 09:58



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?