Van Morrison – Versatile (2017) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Van Morrison – Versatile (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 01:08:18 minutes | 1,24 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © Caroline Records

Van Morrison never had to choose between rock, blues, rythm ‘n’ blues, soul and jazz, since he created his own style, the Van Morrison style; that is to say a subtle blend of rock, blues, soul and jazz… Sometimes, however, the septuagenarian bard from Belfast insists a bit more on one of those genres. Like here with Versatile, where the mood is definitely jazzy. Only three months after having released Roll With The Punches, in which he covered soul and blues wonders penned by Sam Cooke, Bo Diddley or Little Walter, this time round he revisits classics that have become legends of the blue note. In this return to the basics, Van The Man sings the Gershwin brothers (A Foggy Day and They Can’t Take That Away From Me), Cole Porter (I Get A Kick Out Of You) and some essentials like Let’s Get Lost (popularized by Chet Baker), Bye Bye Blackbird, Makin’ Whoopee, The Party’s Over, Unchained Melody (magnified in the last century by the Righteous Brothers) and I Left My Heart In San Francisco which was one of Tony Bennett’s greatest hits. It’s a 38th studio album that the master of the blue-eyed soul tackles with some serenity. His crooner voice is no longer his same voice from his 20s or 30s, but he manages to make each and every one of his sentences endearing, poignant even. There’s nothing revolutionary here which could compete with his masterpieces Astral Weeks, Moondance or Veedon Fleece, but a great feeling of serenity anyway. That’s not so bad in a way…

01. Broken Record 03:15
02. A Foggy Day 03:33
03. Lets Get Lost 03:37
04. Bye Bye Blackbird 03:45
05. Skye Boat Song 04:01
06. Take It Easy Baby 04:07
07. Makin Whoopee 04:51
08. I Get A Kick Out Of You 04:09
09. I Forgot That Love Existed 03:37
10. Unchained Melody 04:32
11. Start All Over Again 04:40
12. Only A Dream 05:29
13. Affirmation 06:03
14. The Party’s Over 03:09
15. I Left My Heart In San Francisco 06:01
16. They Can’t Take That Away From Me 03:33

Produced by Van Morrison



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?