Various Artists – Round Nina: A Tribute to Nina Simone (2014) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Various Artists – Round Nina: A Tribute to Nina Simone (2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44.1kHz | Time – 00:52:14 minutes | 564 MB | Genre: Jazz
Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | © Classics Jazz France , Verve Music Group

Round Nina is a tribute to Nina Simone. Born Eunice Kathleen Waymon on February 21 st , 1933 in Tryon, North Carolina, Nina Simone led several lives, drifting wherever she triumphed or foundered in her dreams of becoming Clara Haskil, Katherine Dunham, or an American Miriam Makeba, perhaps. Maria Callas, too. While Nina lived, she never tasted the recognition that was offered to her models. Too wild. Bared. Unstable. Agressive.

Her violence (contained or not) was intimidating. She would go against the currents introduced or followed by her peers. In the end, her century unfairly turned its back on the woman who instigated a form of “Great Black American Music” that was her own, daring, synthesis of blues, soul and classical music. Her most ample merits? They were only fully recognized after her passing, in the south of France in 2003. While she lived, there were so few to admit that the art of Nina Simone con- cerned principally hope, rather than tears or revolt; it was a universal grammar that would be her sole legacy, one for which her memory is still celebrated today, everywhere.

1. Baltimore – Lianne La Havas 5:05
2. Sinnerman – Keziah Jones 6:07
3. Just Say I Love Him – Hindi Zahra 6:14
4. Black Is The Color (Of My True Love’s Hair) – Gregory Porter 4:45
5. My Baby Just Cares For Me – Olivia Ruiz 2:54
6. Feeling Good – Ben L’Oncle Soul 4:11
7. Four Women – Melody Gardot 6:23
8. Plain Gold Ring – Youn Sun Nah 5:20
9. I Put A Spell On You – Sophie Hunger 5:23
10. Lilac Wine – Camille 5:53

Lianne La Havas – vocals
Keziah Jones – vocals, guitars
Hindi Zahra – vocals
Gregory Porter: vocals
Melody Gardot – vocals, backing vocals
Olivia Ruiz – vocals
Ben L’Oncle Soul – vocals
Youn Sun Nah – vocals, backing vocals
Sophie Hunger – vocals
Camille – vocals, backing vocals
Bojan Z – piano, backing vocals
Christophe Minck – bass, guitars, n’goni, keyboards, backing vocals, harp
Sébastien Martel, Axel Le Guil – guitars
Cyril Atef – percussion, drums, backing vocals
Ensemble Archipel – strings orchestra
Clément Ducol – piano
Brice Moscardini, Richard Blanchet – trumpet
Sébastien Llado – trombon
Cédric Ricard – saxophone



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?