Weldon Irvine – Spirit Man (1975/2017) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Weldon Irvine – Spirit Man (1975/2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 37:45 minutes | 824 MB | Genre: R&B
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © RCA – Legacy

During the 1970s, innovative musicians continually redefined the sound of jazz, funk, and soul music, digging deeper than ever before to unearth powerful new sonic textures. One such pioneer was keyboardist Weldon Irvine, a jazz-funk luminary who released some of the most revered recordings of the era. Irvine’s 1975 album Spirit Man is a true masterpiece, full of infectious grooves and otherworldly electronic elements.

Entirely composed, arranged, conducted, and produced by Irvine himself, the album remains a potent artistic statement, both deeply spiritual and intensely funky. Crate diggers may recognize the opening track “We Gettin’ Down,” which was sampled by A Tribe Called Quest for their classic single “Award Tour.”

Spirit Man channels the sonic sprawl of the preceding Cosmic Vortex (Justice Divine) to forge a tighter, more focused approach. Eschewing vocals altogether, it’s Weldon Irvine’s most balanced and complete recording, deftly combining massive funk grooves with ingenious electronic elements. Featuring a supporting cast including bassist Cleveland Freeman, trumpeters Charles Sullivan and Everett “Blood” Hollins, and saxophonist Sonny Fortune, Spirit Man parallels Herbie Hancock’s groundbreaking fusion dates in both the imagination and ferocity of Irvine’s keyboards as well as the extraterrestrial reach of its electronic effects. This music is deep, funky, and deeply funky. ~ Jason Ankeny

01 – We Gettin’ Down
02 – Softly (Pt. 1)
03 – Pogo Stick
04 – Blast Off
05 – Jungle Juice
06 – Yasmin
07 – The Power and the Glory
08 – Softly (Pt. 2)

Produced & Arranged by Weldon Irvine.
Recorded in RCA’s Studio “D” in New York City.



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?