Claude Williamson – ‘Round Midnight (1956/2014) [PrestoClassical FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Claude Williamson – ‘Round Midnight (1956/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 38:11 minutes | 592 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: PrestoClassical | Front Cover | © Bethlehem Records

Bop pianist Claude Williamson takes on the standards on this 1956 session, recorded in Los Angeles, which included Red Mitchell on bass and Mel Lewis on drums. The highlight of the album is the often-covered title track by Thelonious Monk; Williamson’s work at the keyboard seems to channel Monk on this song.

Claude Williamson was one of the better bebop-oriented pianists to be active during the 1950s. This trio set with bassist Red Mitchell and drummer Mel Lewis has been reissued on CD. With the exception of four-minute renditions of “Stella by Starlight” and Horace Silver’s “Hippy,” all of the numbers clock in around the three-minute mark. The repertoire (which includes such tunes as “Somebody Loves Me,” “The Surrey with the Fringe on Top,” “Just One of Those Things” and “The Song Is You”) is typical for the time period and Williamson brings to the music his own approach to playing bop. The set is quite enjoyable and, even if the program (which is around 39 minute) is a bit brief, it should appeal to straightahead jazz fans.

01 – The Uninvited: Stella By Starlight
02 – George White’s Scandals of 1921: Somebody Loves Me
03 – Guys and Dolls: I’ll Know
04 – Oklahoma!: The Surrey With The Fringe On Top
05 – Polka Dots and Moonbeams
06 – Hippy
07 – Tea for Two: Tea For Two
08 – Stompin’ At The Savoy: Stompin’ At the Savoy
09 – ‘Round Midnight
10 – Just One of Those Things: Just One Of Those Things
11 – The Goldwyn Follies: Love Is Here to Stay
12 – Music in the Air: The Song Is You

Recorded in Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA.
Remastered in 2014.

Claude Williamson – piano
Red Mitchell – double bass
Mel Lewis – drums



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?