Mose Allison – I’ve Been Doing Some Thinkin’ (1968/2011) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Mose Allison – I’ve Been Doing Some Thinkin’ (1968/2011)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/192 kHz | Time – 26:30 minutes | 1,05 GB | Genre: Blues, Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Digital Booklet | © Rhino Atlantic

I’ve Been Doin’ Some Thinkin’ presents the hip and sophisticated Mose Allison in top-notch form. Allison’s unique sonic aesthetic, crisp arrangement and agile playing resonate throughout this compilation of hits. The album finds Allison at the height of his career and includes his memorable ballad “Everybody’s Cryin’ Mercy” and the well-structured “City Home.”

Three years had gone by between this release and the previous Mose Allison outing on Atlantic, perhaps giving the artist time to concoct some of the really tasty lyrics he came up with. The opening track, “Just Like Livin’,” alternates between absurd satire and to-the-point cynicism in a way that is completely unique to Allison, although many other artists have tried to imitate it. How many songwriters can sum up life in less than two minutes, after all? There are many other highlights as well, including the memorable structure of “City Home” and a rococo reworking of “You Are My Sunshine” that might cause a riot at a wedding if played as a request. A peak perhaps not only of this album but the entire Allison career is the ballad “Everybody’s Cryin’ Mercy,” as powerful an indictment of hypocrisy as has ever been recorded. Bassist Red Mitchell is on hand with his fat but easy to digest sound, and he seems to prompt Allison to play aggressively. Some of the piano solos sound like they were rendered with various martial arts techniques.

01 – Just Like Livin’
02 – City Home
03 – If You’re Going To The City
04 – Now You See It
05 – You Are My Sunshine
06 – Your Molecular Structure
07 – If You Really Loved Me
08 – Everybody Cryin’ Mercy
09 – Feels So Good
10 – Let It Come Down
11 – Back On The Corner

Produced by Mose Allison.
Recorded on July 9, 10 & 12, 1968 at Annex Recording Studios, Hollywood, CA.

Mose Allison – piano, vocals
Red Mitchell – bass
Bill Goodwin – drums



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?