Nina Simone – Broadway-Blues-Ballads (1964/2012) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Nina Simone – Broadway-Blues-Ballads (1964/2012)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 36:40 minutes | 1,55 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download  – Source: HDTracks | © Verve Records

Multi-GRAMMY nominated vocalist Nina Simone broadened her musical horizon with the release of Broadway – Blues – Ballads. Appealing to the mainstream market, Simone incorporated a full orchestra in the recording studio. Illuminated with her pristine musicianship and emotional depth, the diverse recording features lesser-known standards by Porter, Rodgers and Hart. Also included are two-now classics associated with Simone, “Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood” and “See-Line Woman.”.

There’s a lot more Broadway and a lot more ballads than blues on this, which ranks as one of her weaker mid-’60s albums. Almost half the record features Broadway tunes on the order of Cole Porter and Rodgers & Hammerstein; most of the rest was composed by Bennie Benjamin, author of her first-rate “Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood,” which the Animals covered for a hit shortly afterwards (and which leads off this record). The other Benjamin tunes are modified uptown soul with string arrangements and backup vocals in the vein of “Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood,” but aren’t in the same league, although “How Can I?” is an engaging cha cha. Besides “Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood,” the album is most notable for the great “SeeLine Woman,” a percolating call-and-response number that ranks as one of her best tracks. The reissue includes the strange bonus cut “The Monster,” an odd attempt at a soul novelty tune.

01 – Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood
02 – Night Song
03 – The Laziest Gal In Town
04 – Something Wonderful
05 – Don’t Take All Night
06 – Nobody
07 – I Am Blessed
08 – Of This I’m Sure
09 – See-Line Woman
10 – Our Love (Will See Us Through)
11 – How Can I
12 – The Last Rose Of Summer
13 – A Monster



We offer 10% off filejoker promo code, you can enter "0k0muy88gso5bsqm" when you buy membership to get this offer!
How to use this code?